Visual & Media Literacy ResourcesUsing Web Sources
This is the "ENC 1101" page of the "ENC 1101 - Written Communication I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENC 1101 - Written Communication I   Tags: articles, books, composition, database, enc 1101, english, essay, library, research, scholarly  

Resources for Written Communication I - ENC 1101
Last Updated: May 17, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/ENC1101 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

ENC 1101 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Books, E-books, etc.

 Search for books, & e-books. Click the icon below: 


  Questions? Click here for FAQ
 

Five Questions to ask when starting a research project.

 

Films On Demand -- Digital Video

Films on Demand Logo

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video. This digital video database is rich in documentaries, speeches and historical events.

 

 

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Full-text and peer reviewed articles in a variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, & the arts.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

The complete electronic editions of more than 600 U.S. newspapers.

Biography in Context

Thousands of full text biographies, both historical and contemporary.

CQ Researcher

Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological  issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

More than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more

Issues and Controversies

Current topics research information, including pro/con discussions, newspaper editorials, graphics, and selected historical source documents.

New York Times (Current)

Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1985 - current

New York Times Historical

Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1853 - 2003

Opposing Viewpoints

Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.

Science in Context

Full-text science-related reference, science-related magazines, academic journals and more.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO / EBSCO)

Draws from over 600 periodicals covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences.

 

Instant Invite

 

Useful Websites

Fed Stats

Find statistics from over 100 US government agencies.

Gallup

A-Z list of Gallup polls by topic

Pew Research Center

Nonpartisan, independent social science and public opinion polling.

Rand Corporation

Nonprofit institution conducting research and analysis in the areas of health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more.

Room for Debate

NYT opinion page - outside contributors discuss news events and other issues. Readers can post comments.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip