FMG Tips
Links to SCF Databases
This is the "Faculty FAQs" page of the "Faculty Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Citation Help MLA Citation Help Frequently Asked Questions Help: contacts and  hours

Faculty Services  

Announcements, news, classes, ideas, apps, web 2.0, services, FPD classes and more.
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/faculty_services_professional_development_courses_tutorials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Faculty FAQs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Faculty FAQs
Circulation, meeting room, ebook polices, FMG ( Films on Demand ) and Library/Librarian services.


Request Library Instruction 
F2F, Online, Your Classroom, Our Instruction Rooms

Chronicle of Higher Education

New Faculty Orientation 

Workshops


Information Literacy
Evaluating Resources :

Using Resources :

Library Tested Educational Technology based on Bloom's Digital Taxonomy

 

New : Books, eBooks, Databases and Library  Resources

  • Last Update: January 2014. New Databases.

 

eText Initiative

  • Let go, Let grow
  • Feedback from initial pilot soon.

Library Hours and Contacts

  • Library staff eMail and Phone Numbers

 

How Can We Help You?

  • Let us know.
 

Did This Help?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Questions? We have Answers

 

Faculty Log In for Library Resources:
It is the same as the student log in.  It is the G# on your SCF ID card.
The PIN is the last 4 digits of the G#.  Please use the capital G. The 00 are zeroes, not capital O's.

Troubleshooting:
When off campus, make sure the drop down box where you are
entering your ID information says State College of Florida Library. 
Also, allow pop ups as that is usually how databases open.

How many simultaneous users for eBooks?

UNLIMITED Simultaneous Users:
Springer eBook Collection
Virtual Reference Gale
Sharpe Online Reference
Infobase (Twayne/Bloom's Literaty Criticism series)

Ovid (only 4 Ovid ebooks at this time.  Subject: evidence based practice)

1 User
Nursing Library Rittenhouse  (2 copies of a few titles.)
Overdrive (Books with waiting lists have more than 1 copy. These are checked out for 7/14 days so there will be a wait.)
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
eBrary
ABC Clio

9 "Seats"
Sarfari Business & Tech Books online. ( we own 50 copies that 9 students can use at any time. That is 9 students can use one book or 9 different books.)

Let your students know eBooks are available 24/7 and can be used on most devices from PC to MAC to Smart Phone.  If they have any questions on use or citation, the Library would be glad to assist. We add ebooks and digital sources daily, so we'd be glad to share and demonstrate our resources one on one, for a class or event a Google Hangout.

How do I know what databases are available for my discipline and courses?

Ask a librarian. Also, there is a direct link for Databases by Subject. This does not include all 100 plus databases.

A Librarian would be glad to look over your syllabus and assignments and prepare a list of library resources to support your course.  A  Library provided link, widget or search box  could be used to direct students from inside ANGEL to the right area.

You could also add the Ask A Librarian widget inside the course in order to provide access to research help to students who may not be aware of the service.

Fully functional example:

Ask A Librarian widget code
<p style="text-align: center;"><iframe src="http://askalibrarian.org/widgets/scfms" frameborder="0" height="106" scrolling="no" width="190"></iframe></p>

What services do Librarians provide to Faculty?

-Librarians provide face to face instruction.  Just call or visit to get on our calendar and discuss parameters of an assignment.

-Librarians will provide F2F overviews and demonstrations at your office or ours.  We are also available for department or other meetings.

-Librarians build Subject Guides and Tutorials that provide users with 24/7 help. These guides can include links to databases, tutorials on how to use databases and be customized to fit the assignment.  See:  A Thousand Splendid Suns | Predictive Research Paper | Technology & Society

-Librarians will include requests in Collection Development efforts.  Request books, ebooks and other media needed to support course or discipline.

-Librarians will search for etext or reading materials to be used in class and work on copyright clearance issues.

-Librarians will create and provide extra credit classes on research and information literacy customized to your course or concerns.

 

What materials do Librarians offer to support Information Literacy, Scholarly Research and Plagiarism Awareness?

Please see and use anything on our Information Literacy page. 

Request for a customized support tutortial or guide.

See : 

 

 

What are Faculty Circulation policies?

Faculty can elect to check out a book for an entire semester.  Faculty are not penalized for overdues, but will be responsible for replacing lost materials.

 

How can I stream video and use video in my F2F, blended or online course?

Yes. Sometimes there are college wide bandwidth issues with using video on campus in class.  Be prepared to have a back up lesson or other alternatives.  

See guide for online use HERE.

 

What types of technology support is available to my students in terms of laptops, calculators and other items needed to complete assignments?

We have iPads, Dell/MAC laptops, digital cameras, caluculators, headphones, cameras, eReaders and more.  None of these items can be checked out over night and many must stay in the Library or on Campus.

Please review and share with students:  Technology Lending.

 

How can Faculty print in the Library?  How do students print in the Library?


Both Bradenton and Venice have campus copiers that will accept your campus copier code.

Students have two alternatives for printing at the Library.  Printing is not free. One option is for the student to put $1 on their SCF ID card.  B/W copies are 10 cents and color is 15 cents.


The WEPA system allows the student to print wirelessly from home, campus or the Library. A student can set up and fund and account or use a regular credit or debit card including their One Card.

 

How can Faculty reserve a study room for students?

Please ask the Librarian to see what rooms are available for reserve and check schedule.

BRADENTON: Group study rooms are available for student use.  Usage is "first come first served", however priority is given to student groups, disabled students and students that need to view DVD & VHS materials.  DVD & VHS viewers are limited so please plan accordingly if you need to view a speech, DVD or VHS for class. There is one study room [Study Room H] equipt with a Mac computer intended for presentation production (Bradenton). Please call the Circulation Desk if you have questions.

VENICE:  For students only to reserve on a “first come, first serve” basis.  The Venice Campus does have two rooms that students may come in person to reserve a room by writing their name down on a clipboard on the door in a time slot (there are clipboards on rooms 319 and 321). 

 

How can I Renew a Book or Library Materials?

- Log in to MY ACCOUNT on SCF.edu/library on upper right hand side and follow prompts. MY ACCOUNT allows you to manage your holds and checked out materials. If the item(s) are overdue, the system will no allow you to renew.  Please call.

- Call library:  

  • Bradenton Library : 941-752-5305
  • Venice Library : 941-408-1435

 

How Do I put Textbooks or other materials on reserve?

On the Venice campus you can drop off or forward to Kristina Zornig.  On the Bradenton campus to David Breakfield.

Include Course CRN, name of course and your name.

How to link to individual Library Resources in ANGEL?

Link to the Library itself:
http://www.scf.edu/library
or faster:
http://www.linccweb.org/Discover?lib_code=FLCC1500

This is a list of direct links to specific databases.  It is an alphabetical list of all databases.
http://libguides.scf.edu/content.php?pid=101929&sid=4080222

You can link to many individual articles, chapters or eBooks. Get the URL in browser of Library databases to translate to ANGEL usable links:
http://www.linccweb.org/Linking.aspx

  • Select State College of Florida.
  • Select specific journal or article on drop down box.
  • Enter the URL from the browser of article or chapter you want to share.
  • When entering into ANGEL, select to open in another window.
  • Check on and off campus.
  • Report to Library if this doesn't work so we can fix issue.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip