AS: Fire Science Technology: Getting Started

Academic Search Complete: Designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Applied Science & Technology: Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index:Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.

Florida Newspapers: Full-text access to major Florida newspapers.

General Science Full-text: Includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals.

Homeland Security Digital Library (CHDS):  (Center for Homeland Defense and Security) - Important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
 

Legal Periodicals & Books: Access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, paralegals, and others involved with the law.

Military & Government Collection: Access to current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350 titles.

Testing & Education Resource Center: Includes a variety of preparatory tests including firefighting and law enforcement. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

TIPS: Scholarly sources are those produced and reviewed by people with recognized expertise in a particular field of study. Scholarly articles are found in scholarly journals - sometimes called peer-reviewed journals. SCF subscribes to databases that provide these academic resources.

To find a scholarly article in a database you can often check a box that limits your search to peer-reviewed journals. This box is sometimes found on a Basic Search, but almost always on an Advanced Search in a database.

Ways to identify an online scholarly or peer-reviewed article:

• Author(s) - Clearly identified author(s) usually with credentials

• References -  lists of works cited at the end

• Title -  usually descriptive, lengthy and uses professional terms

• Length -  is the article 5 pages or longer?

• Ask  - check with your Librarian or Professor

• Review - look at the elements of the article. Make sure it has what the assignment requires, such as, tables, conclusions, methodology and other research articles elements.