JSTORAcademic Search CompleteSocial Sciences Full TextSage Publications
This is the "Getting Started with Sociological Research" page of the "SYG 2000: Sociology Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Citation Help MLA Citation Help Frequently Asked Questions Help: contacts and  hours

SYG 2000: Sociology Research   Tags: finlay, rates, social science, social studies, sociological imagination, sociology, suicide, syg  

Resources to support social science information literacy.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/Research_for_sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started with Sociological Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Resources Overview

This demo is a brief description of Library Resource page elements.

If clicking on the image below does not work, please use this link. Please View Full Screen.

 

Ask A Librarian

 

Did This Help?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Selected Scholarly Research Recommendations for Sociology

RESEARCH
Google/Bing searches for substantive academic material that will substantiate your position WILL NOT do.  Use selected databases to find the required credible scholarly literature

Four suggested databases ( details, demos and specific journals below)
Sage Journals | Social Sciences Full Text | Limit to Sociology Journals: JSTOR | Academic Search Complete


SELECTED DATABASES:
Sign In:  G#, PIN is the last 4 digits of G#

SEARCH: Sage Journals


DEMO: Sage Publications


Selected Sociology Journals in Sage Journals :
American Behavioral Scientist | American Sociological Review | Contexts | Journal of Health & Social Behavior | Social Psychology Journal| Sociological Methodology | Sociological Theory | Sociology

SEARCH: Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)


DEMO: Academic Search Complete


Sociology Journals in Academic Search Complete : Sociology of Religion
| Journal of Sociology & Social Welfare | Sociological Viewpoints | Sociological Research

SEARCH: JSTOR

DEMO: JSTOR

Sociology Journals in JSTOR: American Journal of Sociology | The American Sociologist | Contemporary Sociology | Theory & Society| Symbolic Interaction

SEARCH: Social Sciences Full Text 


DEMO: 
Social Sciences Full Text

Sociology Journals in Social Sciences Full Text: Journal of Child & Family Studies |Journal of Comparative Family Studies | Southern Studies : An Interdisciplinary Journal of the South | Demography

TWO ADDITIONAL WAYS TO SEARCH FOR SCF LIBRARIES SCHOLARLY ARTICLES:


Three techniques to find a Scholarly Articie. Make sure to search specifically for Sociology journals.


Don't Understand what a Scholarly Journal Article is?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Video:  Scholarly vs Popular Articles

Also, at the bottom of every Lesson in ANGEL you will find a link to a document named Web Resources. This should direct you to a variety of information that you should be able to use. As some of the sites or information on them may not be scholarly, when in any doubt, go through the criteria for evaluating Web pages or ask.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip