8th Grade History Library Visit
Evaluating History Websites
Search Tips
-
Know basic info before you search
-
Use quotes "lost colony"
-
Have extra Search words ready
-
Mayflower, Pilgrims, "Plymouth colony"
Acceptable Websites
Mayflower
Roanoke
Pocahontas
- www.americaslibrary.gov/aa/pocahonta/aa_pocahonta_subj.html
- www.co.henrico.va.us/about-henrico/history/four-faces-of-pocahontas.html
Prepare to Cite (things to find)
- Title
- Author
- Source
- Date
- URL
Recommended Databases
Sign in for SCF resources is your G#. The PIN Is the last 4 digits of your G#.
SCF Library Databases
Alexander Street Press American History has documentaries and footage of some historical events. It is searchable. You can also build clips for presentations to share or embed.
America's Newspapers get newspapers and broadcast media from around the country
Biography Resource Center get information about people and related articles.
CQ Researcher explores topics in depth. Use Issue Tracker to view chronological alphabetical lists of issues.
Florida Newspapers get local newspapers and broadcast media
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia easy to use
Health & Wellness Resource Center health & alternative health information
Info Trac Junior Edition (Middle & High School) current articles and reference essays
Info Trac Kids (younger students) current articles and reference essays
Info Trac Student Edition (High School) current articles and reference essays
Issues & Controversies topics that are explained to represent different sides
MAS Ultra School Edition (High School) current articles and reference essays
Opposing Viewpoints topics and articles that represent various opinions
Pop Culture Universe looks at fashion, business, arts, literature, music, politics and more from the 1920s to the present.
What Do I Read Next? like a book? Want to read something similar, check here!
Video Databases
Films on Demand also has documentaries. Additionally it has films on history, social issues and interviews with key public figures.
One Search for All Library Resources!
Search Library Resources. -- Narrow your search to format. You can select ebooks, books. scholarly journal articles, newspapers, digital video and more. You may narrow your search with an author (Rowling, Basye, Haddix), or title (Hunger Games, Harry Potter,...).
TIPS:
-Search phrases using " ".
Example: video games = "video games".
-Use truncation if you are not sure about the ending of your search term. ? or *
Example: Expen? = Expense, Expensive, Expenditure
Recommended Websites
Manatee County Public Libraries search the electronic Information Resources. Log in with your 14 digit public library barcode and PIN. You may need to call the public library to set up your PIN. Not all databases available online.
Florida Electronic Library search Florida resources as well as a large number of online databases. Log in with your 14 digit public library barcode and PIN. You may need to call the public library to set up your PIN.
Internet Public Library professionally produced guide to the web via subject guides and more. Also has annotated bibliographies of print sources.
American Heritage Magazine - Includes some searchable full text content. Not scholarly.
Library of Congress - Primary digitized documents from American History and related collections.
Suggested Books
Instant Invite
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Bradenton Campus Library Circulation Desk 941-752-5305 Voice Mail 941-752-5307 Send Email Subjects: Library Access Services Supervisor |
Films on Demand -- Digital Video
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video. This digital video database is rich in documentaries, speeches and historical events.




Loading...
