TABLE OF CONTENTS
Core Resources: Do you need to find sources for Ancient Rome? Check out SCF Library databases, eLibraries, digital video and more.
Library FAQs: Screencasts and tutorials on how to find and use ebooks, scholarly articles and more. Don't see something you need? Let us know.
Library Info: Library hours for both campuses, contact and other area library information.
Ask-A-Librarian: Chat, Text, or Email
Helpful Hints
- Be Organized
- Pick your topic
- Know some basic information
- use quotes when search: "Ancient Rome"
- Try to use different search terms.
- "Ancient Rome" & "Daily Life"
Films On Demand -- Digital Video
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video. This digital video database is rich in documentaries, speeches and historical events.
Recommended Databases
The library databases can help you with your research. You will need to sign in with your G# and use the last 4 digits of your G# as your pin. Some databases to try are:
History Reference Center: Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers plus 130 history periodicals.
InfoTrac-Junior Edition: (Middle & High School Students). InfoTrac-Junior Edition will help you locate general information regarding your topic, current articles and reference material.
InfoTrac-Student Edition: (High School Students). This database contains current articles and reference material, and will help you locate general information regarding your topic.
Primary Search (Ebsco): (High School Students). This database provides access to periodicals, books, reference material, etc.
Oxford Reference On-Line Premium: You can search for up-to-date information within the dictionary, reference books, and subject (ex: history) reference works.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: This is an online encyclopedia that is easy to use.
Recommended Websites
Here are some Websites that will help you with your research. Just click on the title.
BBC-History: This site will provide the student with an overview of various aspects of Ancient Rome. There are also interactive learning games. http://www.bbc.co.uk/history.
Social Studies for Kids: This site will provide the student with articles written about various aspects of history including Timelines, Geography, Religions, and Archeology. The subject areas can be found on the left side of the home page. http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/
KidsClick.org: This is a directory of websites created by librarians just for kids. http://kidsclick.org/
Odyssey Online:Odyssey Online is an interactive website. http://carlos.emory.edu/ODYSSEY/
Eyewitnesstohistory.com: A good site for primary sources. http://eyewitnesstohistory.com/
Quintura for Kids: Quintura provides a fun and animated way to do research. http://quinturakids.com/
Museum Explorer-Ancient Rome: The British Museum site offers different media, such as interactive tours, to make the study of Ancient Rome fun for kids. http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/young_explorers/discover/museum_explorer.aspx


Loading...
