Recommended Databases
New York Times Historical
Full text coverage: 1851 - 2004
Academic Search Complete is a broad database that covers many disciplines and specialties.
History Reference Center features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers plus 130 history periodicals. Primarily North American.
Military & Government Collection contains primary and secondary resources including the full text of Vital Speeches back to 1937. Also indexes Congressional Testimony and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Can limit search to primary source document.
JSTOR is a digital scholarly archive built by and for scholars. It is particularly strong in primary sources and historical materials.
OmniFile Full Text Mega is a powerful all in one search. Contains Omni Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, EBSCO Business Full Text.
World History includes international history, but also does cover the discovery of the "new world" to the American Revolution to the present.
Pop Culture Universe looks at fashion, business, arts, literature, music, politics and more from the 1920s to the present.
CQ Researcher explores topics in depth. Use Issue Tracker to view chronological alphabetical lists of issues.
Video Databases
Alexander Street Press American History has documentaries and footage of some historical events. It is searchable. You can also build clips for presentations to share or embed.
Films on Demand also has documentaries. Additionally it has films on history, social issues and interviews with key public figures.
One Search for All Library Resources!
Click on the link below to search in the Library Catalog.
Narrow your search by format. You can select ebooks, books. scholarly journal articles, newspapers, digital video and more.
Try the following subjects and key words:
| Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Viet Cong Nineteen Sixties John F. Kennedy Martin Luther King, Jr. Civil Rights Protest Movements Lyndon B. Johnson Robert F. Kennedy |
New Left SDS Black Panther Party Democratic National Convention, 1968 Chicago Seven Trial Richard M. Nixon Pentagon Papers |
Counterculture Hippies LSD Timothy Leary Haight-Ashbury Woodstock Women's Movement |
Films on Demand - digital video
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video. This digital video database is rich in documentaries, speeches and historical events.
Instant Invite
Recommended Websites
American President: An Online Reference Source
Research center on the American presidency at the University of Virginia
Digital History: The Tumultuous 1960s
Learning module with links and primary sources.
Digital History: The Vietnam War
Learning module with links and primary sources.
National Security Archive
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University
Internet Public Library
professionally produced guide to the web via subject guides and more. Also has annotated bibliographies of print sources.
Library of Congress
Primary digitized documents from American History and related collections.



Loading...
