Books
Click on the title to bring up the library catalog record; this will lead to the call number or the eBook link.
Login= G00#
Pin= last 4 digits of G00#
The Adult Learner
Call Number: LC5225 .L42 K56 2005
ISBN: 0750678372
This sixth edition, originally published by Knowles in 1978 expands further on the theories of andragogy by Knowles. Provides a theoretical framework for adult learning issues both in teaching and workplace environments.
The Excellent Online Instructor
Call Number: LB1044.87 .P338 2011
ISBN: 0470635231
Includes models based on adult learning theory, guidelines for developing a faculty mentoring program; ideas for overcoming faculty resistance; long term faculty development effort.
Adult learning in the digital age perspectives on online technologies and outcomes
ISBN: 1605668281
This is an eBook. This book provides a comprehensive framework of trends and issues related to adult learning.
Integrating adult learning and technologies for effective education strategic approaches
ISBN: 9781615206940
This is an eBook. This book provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings in the area of integrating adult learning and technology, exploring different innovative and strategic instructional approaches.
Adult learning and development perspectives from educational psychology
ISBN: 080582524X
This is an eBook.
Provides further background on Adult Learning Theories.
Provides further background on Adult Learning Theories.
Learn like a leader : today's top leaders share their learning journeys
Call Number: HD30.4 .L396 2010
ISBN: 1857885570
"Great leaders are great learners." The authors tell the stories of some of the biggest names in business management. They include lessons on leadership, mentoring, developing self-knowledge, unlearning, and lifelong learning.
Motivational leadership in early childhood education
Call Number: LB1775.6 .M37 2007
ISBN: 1418018686
Motivation theory is applied to the early childhood field, but provides practical solutions for all leaders to encourage employee creativity, productivity and learning.
Science education leadership : best practices for the new century
Call Number: Q183.3.A1 S3544 2010
ISBN: 1936137003
Includes essays on the best thinking and best practices for science education leaders, helping all science educators realize their goal of science literacy.
Comments (0)
Andragogy
This is a short film from the PC3 team focusing on Malcolm Knowles' theory of andragogy or adult learning. This video is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. By Janet Finlay of Leeds Metropolitan University, UK.
Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
Login= G00#
Pin= last 4 digits of G00#
- Revisiting adult learning theory through the lens of an adult learner.(Essay) Author compares learning theories including behaviorism, humanism, cognitive constructivism, and social constructivism and how these translate to classroom instruction.
- Adult Learners in a Research University: Negotiating Undergraduate Student Identity Drawing upon social constructivist theory, this study explored this coconstruction through positional and relational adult student identities.
- Re-imagining the human dimension of mentoring: a framework for research administration and the academy. The author describes theories of adult education, mentoring, and leadership that relate to these populations. In addition to the pertinent literature, support is drawn from the author's scholarship and professional experience in mentorship, leadership, and democracy in postsecondary settings.
- Certified Adult Educators' Attitudes towards Continuing Education. This large scale study in Greece identifies ways to motivate educators to participate in professional development.
- Bridging the Gap: Self-Directed Staff Technology Training This article explains how Brigham Young University Libraries developed a very successful self-directed technology training program for staff based on theories of andragogy.
- Peer and Faculty Mentoring in Doctoral Education: Definitions, Experiences, and Expectations. Qualitative investigation, researchers conducted three focus groups of protégés, peer mentors, and faculty mentors to explore definitions, experiences, and expectations of mentoring
- The role of learning styles and technologyAddresses each of the VARK learning styles (Visual, Auditory, Read and Write, Kinesthetic), aligns Web 2.0 technologies, and feedback from students using these technologies in online courses.
- Professional Development 2.0: transforming teacher education pedagogy with 21st century tools.(Report) Arizona State University developed a problem-based training program which introduced social media to the faculty.
Web Resources
- The VARK questionnaire
- Mentor Information and Materials
- Adult Education Quarterly
- Adult Learning
- Community Partnerships for Adult Learning, U.S. Department of Education
- California Distance Learning Project
- Educational Technology Clearinghouse
- How Adults Learn
- International Society for Technology in Education
- Iowa Professional Development Model
- Teaching Tips Index
- U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Technology
- ICT and Learning Styles
Director of Libraries |









Loading...
