This is the "Core Resources" page of the "Advertising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Citation Help MLA Citation Help Frequently Asked Questions Help: contacts and  hours

Argumentative or Persuasive paper on Advertising issues.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/advertising_issues_research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Core Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks & eVideos

eBOOKS: Full text, 24/7 access

DIGITAL CONTENT:

  • FMG
    This database contains streaming videos on a variety of topics.  An excellent way to find a multimedia, visual resource.
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Ad Age RSS Feed

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Did this Help?

Did This Help?

Feedback from users.
Name:
eMail
1. Are you a State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota student? *
2. Rate this Guide: *
Excellent support.
Did you expect or need something else? Tell us about it below so we can create it.
This did not help. Could you please tell us what would help below.
3. What else should we add to Subject Guides and Tutorials?
 

SCF Library Databases and Resources

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

WHAT: Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

WHY:  Contains Journal of Marketing Research (JMR). Journal of Advertising Research, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Business Ethics and others.
TIPS:  Click on SUBJECT on left hand side to find other keywords and phrases used in industry.
TUTORIALS:
  Upper right hand side once signed into database.

See also:
Business and Economics eJournal Collection

Business Source Complete
JSTOR

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
WHAT:
A database containing articles -- popular, scholarly and newspaper -- and various other media. Find podcasts, videos and images. Also, opinion essays and other support or disagreement with various issues. Test the strength of an argument or find a persuasive topic in this database.


WHY:
Test your topic and thesis in the search. Also, use to narrow down a large topic to a focused topic.
TIPS: Select ISSUE and review viewpoints to look for topic ideas.
TUTORIALS: Navigating the Home Page | Searching

See Also: Issues and Controversies (Facts on File) 


Scholalry Versus Popular Articles

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)
What:
Covers American policy at home and abroad with coverage from 1923 to the present. Search the full text of all reports and limit their search by date range or topic categories. The “Issue Tracker,”which lets users trace vital issues over time.

WHY:  Archives go back to early last century and provide deep historical content on how an issue evolved and changed over time.
TIPS:
  This database is best for regulation and control of actual advertising and how some products may be advertised in the United Sates.
TUTORIALS:   Go to HELP link after signed in. It is upper middle of page.

See also:
Military and Government Collection

JSTOR
New York Times - Historical
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

WHY:  Provides actual research studies on communication, behavior modification, influence and other key concepts in advertising practice.
TIPS: Review the SUBJECTS list in the individual search results list for other words and ideas to use for research in this database.
TUTORIALS: After sign in, there is a HELP link on upper right hand side.

See also:
Social Sciences Full Text
Sage Journals
Behaviorial Science eJournals

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)
WHAT:
Straightforward presentation of the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today's most important and timely issues make the database an ideal resource for beginning research for papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments. This database does not always fulfill the requirement for scholarly research.

WHY: The collection of resources are selected to show many perspectives of a topic.
TIPS: Review ISSUES: PRO and CON section for topic ideas.
TUTORIALS:  Help
See also: Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) |CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) |

Pop Culture Universe
WHAT:  Essays and research from major reference titles.  Provides a higher level of scholarship than Wikipedia or Google on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues.

WHY:  Locate specific advertising campaigns and their history such as "Where's the Beef?" or "Got Milk?"
TIPS: Use IDEA EXCHANGE if looking for a topic. 
TUTORIALS: After log in, see HELP on upper right hand corner.




See also:
Virtual Reference Library Gale
Contains Bowling, Beatniks
and Bellbottoms : Pop Culture of 20th
Century America and St. James
Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
)

 

Social Sciences Full Text
(EBSCO)

WHAT: Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Some full text from 1972. Covers topics: Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science and more.

WHY: Covers marketing, advertising and other influence based techniques. Includes the Journal of Mass Media Ethics.
TIPS: Use the following terms in searches: controversy, social aspects and ethics.
TUTORIALS:After sign in, there is a HELP link on upper right hand side.

See also:
PsycArticles

Academic Search Complete

 

eBOOKS: Full text, 24/7 access
eBrary:  Many books on a variety of advertising topics.
Digital Collection ABC CLIO : Use the advanced search
to narrow down subject area.

 

DIGITAL CONTENT:

Media Studies & Communication
FMG: Films Media Group.  This database contains
streaming videos on a variety of topics. 
An excellent way to find a multimedia, visual resource.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip