Art & Politics

Need to do a paper on how politics has affected or even created some art movements or influenced artists? This is YOUR guide.

This


Visual Art | Music | Literature

 

Visual Art

For Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles: 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) allows broad wide ranging database for researcher to explore full text and scholarly articles. Thesaurus terms for this research topic include Arts -- Political Aspects and Art in Politics.  Contains journals such as Art Bulletin 03/01/1975 to present, Art Journal 09/01/1974 to present and more.

Art Full Text (EBSCO) over 800 journals.  This is a good resource for visual arts but it is weak for music research. Learn how to search Art, Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text ( EBSCO ) in one search.

 

For Artist biographies see:  

Biography in Context.

 

For Historical & Cultural References : 

Oxford Art Online ( includes Grove Art) allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with powerful tools for navigating the content. Useful for visual arts and fashion.  Video Demo.

Pop Culture Universe covers from the 1920's to the present. Topics include visual culture, fashion, arts, film and more.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) includes encyclopedias, special reports, journals and more. Allows topics to be narrowed by timeline on the advanced search form. Key phrases might include "Art - Poltical Aspects," "Politics & Government," "Censorship," "History in Literature", "Books & reading,"  "Art & state" and more.  Includes journals, such as, Art History 03/01/1981 to present, World Archaeology 10/01/1993 to present and Smithsonian 06/01/1990 to present. 

 

 

 

MUSIC

For Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles: 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Allows broad wide ranging database for researcher to explore full text and scholarly articles. Thesaurus terms for this research topic include Arts -- Political Aspects and Art in Politics.  Contains journals Music, Sound and Moving Image,  Music in Art: International Journal for Music Iconography,Journal of Seventeenth Century MusicBomb and more.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) contains scholarly journals on arts, history, philosophy and more.  Contains Journals Folk Music Journal, Woman & Music,  Popular Music & SocietyPopular Music and others.

 

For Musician biographies see:  

Biography in Context.

 

For Historical & Cultural References : 

Oxford Music Online ( includes Grove Music ) also provides thematic timeless encompassing the world of music. It includes popular music, as well as, traditional music history.  Video Demo.

Gale Virtual Reference Library includes The History of Music Videos, The History of Classical Music, History of Country Music, History of Latin Music, The Music Industry,  The History of Alternative Rock, The History of Jazz, The History of Rock and Roll and Downloading Music.  
Video Demo.

Pop Culture Universe covers from the 1920's to the present. Topics include visual culture, fashion, arts, film and more.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) includes encyclopedias, special reports, journals and more. Allows topics to be narrowed by time line on the advanced search form. Key phrases might include "Art - Political Aspects," "Politics & Government," "Censorship," "History in Literature", "Books & reading,"  "Art & state" and more.  Includes journals, such as, Art History 03/01/1981 to present, World Archaeology 10/01/1993 to present and Smithsonian 06/01/1990 to present. 

 

Belafonte  participated in the 1950's Civil Rights movement and was  Martin Luther King's friend.
He's a noted Humanitarian that continues to fight for social justice. 

Belafonte in John Murray Anderson's Almanac on Broadway, photographed by Carl Van Vechten, 1954. Wikipedia. As the restrictions on this collection expired in 1986, the Library of Congress believes this image is in the public domain.

 

Literature

SEE: Literature Research | Short Story Research | Poetry Research

Literature Resources from Gale includes criticism and articles on poetry, novels, short stories and author's body of work. Phrases to search include "political literature," "cultural criticism," "social criticism" and "social change." Video Demo.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Use the Criticisms section in Novels for Students to find scholarly literary criticisms. Includes Literary Newsmakers for Students, Literary Themes for Students (Race and Prejudice, The American Dream , War and Peace), Novels for Students, St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture , Novels and Short Stories for Students. Video Demo.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) allows broad wide ranging database for researcher to explore full text and scholarly articles. Thesaurus terms for this research topic include Politics in Literature, Utopias in Literature, social criticism in literature and more. 

 

For Author biographies see:  


Biography in Context.

 

For Historical & Cultural References : 

Pop Culture Universe covers from the 1920's to the present. Topics include visual culture, fashion, arts, film and more.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) includes encyclopedias, special reports, journals and more. Allows topics to be narrowed by timeline on the advanced search form. Key phrases might include "Art - Political Aspects," "Politics & Government," "Censorship," "History in Literature", "Books & reading,"  "Art & state" and more.  Includes journals, such as, Art History 03/01/1981 to present, World Archaeology 10/01/1993 to present and Smithsonian 06/01/1990 to present. 

 George Orwell's Animal Farm

 

 

General

 

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) is based on the respected print series, this is a virtual toolbox of major resources. Can also be used to find scholarly articles, images, podcasts and more. 

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) draws from over 600 periodicals in the social sciences field covering mass media, public welfare, addiction studies, ethics and more.  Learn how to search Art, Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text ( EBSCO ) in one search.

 

History Reference Center (EBSCO) includes encyclopedias, special reports, journals and more. Allows topics to be narrowed by timeline on the advanced search form. Key phrases might include "Art - Poltical Aspects," "Politics & Government," "Censorship," "History in Literature", "Books & reading,"  "Art & state" and more.  Includes journals, such as, Art History 03/01/1981 to present, World Archaeology 10/01/1993 to present and Smithsonian 06/01/1990 to present.

 

 

 

 

Suggested searches for
Opposing Viewpoints:

 

music "social change" - covers rap, hip hop and other types of music

Search author or title of book,  such asGeorge Orwell.

Opposing Viewpoints is also useful for finding essays, articles and scholarly journal articles on:

Freedom of Expression

Freedom of Speech

Fair Use (Copyright)

Celebrities and Politicians

   

 

 

 

Chat or e-mail your State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Librarian Now

Don't see something you need? Let us know.

 

The State College of Florida Libraries :

Bradenton Library : 941-752-5305
Venice Library : 941-408-1435
Databases |Linking to LINCCWeb