Subject Guides & Tutorials - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | V | W

A
A Thousand Splendid Suns
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Nov 10, 2011
Research guide for students reading A Thousand Splendid Suns for ENC 1102

ACP-Alternative Certificate Program
by Stephanie Katz - Last Updated Jan 13, 2012

Advertising
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
Argumentative or Persuasive paper on Advertising issues.

American History
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
Tips to finding primary sources, historical research and more including digital resources.

Angel: Basic Troubleshooting, Tricks and Tools
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Sep 16, 2011
Overview: This two hour workshop will feature quirks and pitfalls common to the Angel LMS, and introduce attendees to strategies for resolving, or comfortably circumventing them. Topics will include, but are not limited to: finding help when you need it,

APA Resources
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
A variety of resources to help you with APA citation and formatting

Applied Ethics: PHI 2600
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Oct 15, 2011
Resources for PHI 2600

Art & Politics
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
Need to do a paper on how politics has affected or even created some art movements or influenced artists? This is YOUR guide.

Art History
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011
Research artists, art history, key art movements and more.

Ask A Librarian -- Text Your Librarian!
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Oct 26, 2010
The text number and how to text your Librarian!

Ask A Librarian Instant Invite
by Rhonda Kitchens, Tracy Elliott, Mark Marino, Tracey Smith - Last Updated Oct 26, 2011
Explanation and introduction of SCF's Ask A Librarian Instant Invite Service.

Astrobiology
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for BSC 2930

B
Biology
by Stephanie Katz, Tracey Smith, Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 12, 2011

Business Resources
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 11, 2012
Subject guide for general business, economics, management, and accounting

C
Career Ebooks
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Oct 27, 2011

Career Research
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
Find occupational statistics, job descriptions, work conditions and more career information.

Career Websites
by Kirsty Beauchamp - Last Updated Oct 13, 2011
For George Barthlow's class

Citing Images - APA
by Rhonda Kitchens, Stephanie Katz - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
Examples of how to cite images using APA 6th edition style.

Collegiate School Reading Lists
by Kirsty Beauchamp - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
Books Owned by SCF Library for 6th, 7th and 8th Grade Reading

Collegiate School-Ancient Rome
by Theresa Smith-Ennis - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
6th and 7th grade Ancient Rome assignment

Current Events & Topical Issues
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 28, 2011
Guidance for locating events in the news, background of current issues and more.

D
Decades Research Essay - Professor Porter
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Resources for Prof. Porter's ENC 1101

DEP 2004 : Resources for Human Development: Life Span
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for Human Development: Life Span

Did You Find What You Needed?
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Oct 13, 2011
Give us some feedback on what worked, didn't work or what would have worked better.

Digital Audio Books, Books & Music
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Download best selling digital audio books 24/7 to your home PC and transfer books to your MP3 or burn onto CD for listening on-the-go. Some titles may also be burned to CDs.

Dual Enrollment
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Aug 1, 2011
Library services, support and resources for Dual Enrollment students.

E
Early Childhood Education
by Kirsty Beauchamp - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
A guide for the Preschool Programs at SCF


ENC 1101 - Written Communication I
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 19, 2012
Resources for Written Communication I - ENC 1101

ENC 1101 : iSearch Project - Professor Ford
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
Professor Ford's unique and insightful project allows the use of many different types of resources for research.

ENC 1101 : Predictive Research Paper ; Professor Barker
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Professor Barker's ENC1101 research paper involving forecasting, predicting, researching and determining a historical baseline for a topic.

ENC 1101 : Researching Etymology - Word History ; Professor McKee
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 7, 2011
Key resources in researching word history.

ENC 1101 Online : Library Tour, Tips and Tech
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Tour of Library for eLearning Students plus tips and demonstrations of basics.

ENC 1102 - Written Communication II
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 11, 2012
Resources for literary criticism, including critical essays on authors, poets, dramatists and their works. Find books, ebooks, and journal articles for your ENC 1102 research.

ENC 1102 : Contemporary Poetry Analysis
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Does your assignment call for you to locate online contemporary poetry and compare it to a classic poem? This guide is for you.

ENC 1102 : Literature Research
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Basic Literature research tips, recommended databases and key terms.

ENC 1102 : Poetry Research & Analysis
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Poignant databases, passionate tips, and pleasing resources for Poetry Research.

Energy Technology Management B.A.S.
by Stephanie Katz - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012

Environmental Science
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 29, 2011
Key databases, library tips and ideas for successful research on issues in Environmental Science.

Ethics
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 29, 2011
Top research sources, search terms and Library tips for Ethics essays and research.

EUH 1000 & EUH 1001: Western Civilization
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for EUH 1000 and EUH 1001

F
Faculty
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012

Faculty Lecture Series
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jun 21, 2011
Series promoting Faculty Scholarship and Research.


Film Genres
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for your research.

Finding a Scholarly Psychology Journal Article
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Your Professor wants you to find a Peer-Reviewed Scholarly research article. Further it has to have a methodology, review, thesis, conclusions and other elements. This is how you find those articles.

G
GEA 2000 : Researching and Comparing World and Regional Geography
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
Research Guide for GEA 2000.

General Library Research
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
Resources for research on a broad range of general topics

H
Health Care Policy and Economics
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated May 24, 2011
Research suggestions, key links and information to support Health Care Policy and Economics.


HOMELAND SECURITY
by Theresa Smith-Ennis - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
Provides resources for student success in the field of Homeland Security.

How to Find A Scholarly Article on Nutrition
by Tracey Smith - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
Nutrition

How to Find a Scholarly Nursing Research Article
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
How to find Scholarly Research, Suggested Databases and APA Tips.

How to Find Scholarly Resources for BSN
by Tracey Smith, Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
Nursing, BSN

How to Find Vital Speeches of the Day
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated May 24, 2011
Tutorial on how to find Vital Speeches of the Day using SCF Databases

How to Sign In to the State College of Florida's Library Resources
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated May 23, 2011
Sign in for databases, eBooks and more.

I
Informatics in Healthcare
by Tracey Smith - Last Updated May 9, 2011

Information Literacy
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 11, 2012
Links to resources to help you understand how to find, evaluate and use information effectively. These are lifelong skills that will help you succeeed in college and in your career.

Information Literacy Standards for SCF Collegiate School
by Kirsty Beauchamp - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
The Library has developed Information Literacy Standards for the Collegiate Middle School , grades 6-9. to build research skills across the curriculum.

L
Lakewood Ranch : Library Services
by Margaret Hawkins - Last Updated Jul 21, 2011
See how to access and request Library resources and services from the Lakewood Ranch Location

Library Guide & Policies
by Margaret Hawkins - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012


Library Orientation for Faculty
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 11, 2012
An introduction to SCF Library resources and services for our faculty.

Links For When SCF Library Website is Down
by Rhonda Kitchens, Tracey Smith, Mark Marino, Margaret Hawkins - Last Updated Nov 17, 2011
Alternate links to catalog and databases when the Library Website or portions of Library website is down.

LIT 2020 : Short Story
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012

LIT 2020 : Short Story Research
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Short stories are sometimes more difficult to research than a book or poem. This guide provides tips and ideas.

LIT 2090 : Comtemporary Literature
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for LIT 2090 Contemporary Literature

M
Marine Biology
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for Introduction to Marine Biology, OCB 1000

Model UN Resources
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
A research guide for the Model UN honors course

O
Open Access Resources
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Guide to Open Access and related topics in scholarly communication.


P
Persuasive Essays and Pro/Con Paper Research
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
Tips on finding different perspectives, facts and issues about various topics.

PhD Program
by Tracey Smith - Last Updated May 24, 2011

Philosophers & Philosophy
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 12, 2011

Popular Culture
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
Useful databases to research and study topics in Popular Culture.

Public Safety Administration
by Theresa Smith-Ennis - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012


R
RefWorks
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Oct 26, 2011
Guides and tutorials for RefWorks

Religion
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Dec 12, 2011
Basic guide to finding sources about and research on Religion.

Researching Technology and Society
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
Need to write an essay on the effects of technology on society? Try these resources.

S
SCF Mobile Resources
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Sep 7, 2011
Hours, Contacts, Ask A Librarian and more Mobile Resources.

SCF New Bradenton Library Construction
by Tracy Elliott - Last Updated Jul 13, 2010
Displayed here are resources shared in the planning, development, and construction phases of the library.

SCF-Collegiate School
by Margaret Hawkins - Last Updated Sep 6, 2011
Information on accessing library resources appropriate for SCF-CS assignments

SCF-Collegiate School-Ancient Greece
by Theresa Smith-Ennis - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
6th and 7th grade Ancient Greece and Sparta

SLS 1301: Career Explorations
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Resources for assignments in SLS 1301, Career Explorations

SLS 1501 - Professor Ash
by Tracey Smith - Last Updated Oct 4, 2011

SLS 1501 - Professor Eisner
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Resources for Professor Eisner's SLS 1501 Research Project

SPC 1608 - Speech Communication
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Resources for SPC 1608 classes

SYG 2000: Sociology Research
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Resources to support social science information literacy.

T
Technology and 21st Century Careers
by Mark Marino - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Resources for Professor Thompson's ENC 1101 research paper.

The Adult Learner
by Tracy Elliott - Last Updated May 25, 2011
Helpful resources for leading adult learners and preparing future leaders.

Theatre Research
by Tracey Smith - Last Updated Oct 21, 2011
Suggested SCF Library resources to assist with drama and theatre research with an emphasis on performance arts.

V
Vietnam War
by Kirsty Beauchamp - Last Updated Nov 1, 2011
Covers Vietnam War, protest in the U.S., 1960s and 1970s

W
Writing & Citing
by Rhonda Kitchens - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Citation help & quidance for MLA, APA and other citation styles.

3 Ways to Find Scholarly Articles

Need to find a scholarly article? Not sure how or what that means? 
Check out his FAQ.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates