Skip to main content

Faculty Services

Announcements, news, classes, ideas, apps, web 2.0, services, FPD classes and more.

Questions? We have Answers

 

 

Faculty Log In for Library Resources:
It is the same as the student log in.  It is the G# on your SCF ID card.
The PIN is the last 4 digits of the G#.  Please use the capital G. The 00 are zeroes, not capital O's.

 

Troubleshooting:
When off campus, make sure the drop down box where you are
entering your ID information says State College of Florida Library. 
Also, allow pop ups as that is usually how databases open.

How many simultaneous users for eBooks?

 

UNLIMITED Simultaneous Users:
Springer eBook Collection
Virtual Reference Gale
Ovid (12 Ovid ebooks at this time.  Subject: nursing)

1 User
Nursing Library Rittenhouse  (2 copies of a few titles.)
Overdrive (Books with waiting lists have more than 1 copy. These are checked out for 7/14 days so there will be a wait.)
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
eBrary
ABC Clio

Let your students know eBooks are available 24/7 and can be used on most devices from PC to MAC to Smart Phone.  If they have any questions on use or citation, the Library would be glad to assist. We add ebooks and digital sources daily, so we'd be glad to share and demonstrate our resources one on one, for a class or event a Google Hangout.

 

 

 

How do I know what databases are available for my discipline and courses?

Ask a librarian or use one of the several searches on our SCF Databases page. Search for subject, database name or even use database types to find a course number or discipline.

A Librarian would be glad to look over your syllabus and assignments and prepare a list of library resources to support your course.  A  Library provided link, widget or search box  could be used to direct students from inside CANVAS to the right area.

 

 

 

ADD ASK A LIBRARIAN CODE

 Add the Ask A Librarian widget inside the course in order to provide access to research help to students who may not be aware of the service.

Fully functional example:

Ask A Librarian widget code
<p style="text-align: center;"><iframe src="http://askalibrarian.org/widgets/scfms" frameborder="0" height="106" scrolling="no" width="190"></iframe></p>

 

 

What services do Librarians provide to Faculty?

-Librarians provide face to face instruction.  Just call or visit to get on our calendar and discuss parameters of an assignment. Request form.

-Librarians will provide F2F overviews and demonstrations at your office or ours.  We are also available for department or other meetings.

-Librarians build Subject Guides and Tutorials that provide users with 24/7 help. These guides can include links to databases, tutorials on how to use databases and be customized to fit the assignment.  See:  A Thousand Splendid Suns Predictive Research Paper | Technology & Society

-Librarians will include requests in Collection Development efforts.  Request books, ebooks and other media needed to support course or discipline.

-Librarians will search for etext or reading materials to be used in class and work on copyright clearance issues.

-Librarians will create and provide extra credit classes on research and information literacy customized to your course or concerns.

-Librarian will locate and request interlibrary loan materials. 

 

 

What materials do Librarians offer to support Information Literacy, Scholarly Research and Plagiarism Awareness?

Please see and use anything on our Information Literacy page. 

Request for a customized instruction or subject guide.

Embed and reuse items from our new online service Research Companion.  Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper.

 

 

 

 

 

What are Faculty Circulation policies?

Faculty can elect to check out a book for an entire semester.  Faculty are not penalized for overdue materials, but will be responsible for replacing lost materials.

Policies for Interlibrary loans are strict and administered by the lending institution.

 

How can I stream video and use video in my F2F, blended or online course?

Yes. Sometimes there are college wide bandwidth issues with using video on campus in class.  Be prepared to have a back up lesson or other alternatives.  

 

What types of technology support is available to my students in terms of laptops, calculators and other items needed to complete assignments?

We have iPads, Dell/MAC laptops, digital cameras, caluculators, headphones, cameras, eReaders and more.  None of these items can be checked out over night and many must stay in the Library or on Campus.

Please review and share with students:  Technology Lending.

 

 

 

 

 

How can Faculty reserve a study room for students?

Please ask the Librarian to see what rooms are available for reserve and check schedule.

BRADENTON: Group study rooms are available for student use.  Usage is "first come first served", however priority is given to student groups, disabled students and students that need to view DVD & VHS materials.  DVD & VHS viewers are limited so please plan accordingly if you need to view a speech, DVD or VHS for class. There is one study room [Study Room H] equipped with a Mac computer intended for presentation production (Bradenton). Please call the Circulation Desk if you have questions.

VENICE:  For students only to reserve on a “first come, first serve” basis.  The Venice Campus does have two rooms that students may come in person to reserve a room by writing their name down on a clipboard on the door in a time slot (there are clipboards on rooms 319 and 321). 

LAKEWOOD RANCH: For students only to reserve on a “first come, first serve” basis. 

 

 

How can I Renew a Book or Library Materials?

- Log in to MY ACCOUNT on SCF.edu/library under HELP and follow prompts. MY ACCOUNT allows you to manage your holds and checked out materials. If the item(s) are overdue, the system will no allow you to renew.  Please call.

- Call library:  

  • Bradenton Library : 941-752-5305
  • Venice Library : 941-408-1435
  • Lakewood Ranch : 941-363-7250

 

How Do I put Textbooks or other materials on reserve?

Bradenton Campus: Angelina Dudley
Venice Campus: Josh Felthoff
Lakewood Ranch:  Rhonda Kitchens

Include Course CRN, name of course and your name.

How to link to individual Library Resources in CANVAS?

Link to the Library itself:
http://www.scf.edu/library
 

This is a list of direct links to specific databases.  It is an alphabetical list of all databases. The link symbol to the right of the title provides a direct link.
http://libguides.scf.edu/az.php

 

We now have the ability to add a link directly to the Library in your CANVAS sidebar navigation.  Students will not have to sign on again. This allows students to click directly to the Library, without having to choose a different tab, or browser.  

 

You can also link to many individual articles, chapters or eBooks. Get the URL in browser of Library databases to translate to CANVAS usable links:
http://www.linccweb.org/Linking.aspx

  • Select State College of Florida.
  • Select specific journal or article on drop down box.
  • Enter the URL from the browser of article or chapter you want to share.
  • When entering into ANGEL, select to open in another window.
  • Check on and off campus.
  • Report to Library if this doesn't work so we can fix issue.

 

 

 

 

 

How do I Link to FMG in CANVAS?

One of our most useful resources, Films on Demand, offers over 22 thousand shows and videos online.  

In this short video (about 6 minutes) we'll show you how you can get these resources directly in your courses.  Do not use the embed or link provided in FMG. Use this shortcut instead.

FMG cannot be reliably streamed in live classes due to bandwidth issues.

 

State College of Florida Libraries State College of Florida Libraries