Skip to main content

FAQs--Quick List of Questions

Anatomy of the SCF Libraries Website

Overview of the State College of
Florida Libraries Website :  Scf.edu/library

For best results, do not use Explorer as a browser when using Library Resources.

If you cannot see the video, go here.  If you would prefer to read the script, see below.

 

 

SCRIPT:

 
Hello, my name is Rhonda Kitchens.  I am a Librarian at the State College of Florida at the Lakewood Ranch and Venice Campuses.  You can also often find me on the library’s chat/email/text service Ask A Librarian.


This video is an overview to the Library Website.  It has many sections to help and guide you.  It contains the Library Catalog and links to our databases.


The Home icon goes back to the main college website.


Use the Library catalog to search for books, articles, eBooks, eVideos and more.  When just looking for a book by subject or to get a general feel for resources on a topic, it is a good way to browse. You may also request books from other campuses here.
Contacts and Hours will take you to all the librarian’s email addresses and phone numbers. It will also let you know the hours of the Library on each campus.


Help is precisely that.   The top three links are to our most asked questions.


How to log in…how to find scholarly articles….and how to cite your work. This covers APA, MLA, ASA and AMA.  If you need to renew or see what you have checked out, use the Your Account link.  There’s also a link and widget to Live chat, email and text to a Librarian.
 
The next drop down box is called databases.  It has many ways to access them.


SCF Databases has links to a list of our over 100 databases arranged alphabetically.  You can also search this page in two key ways.  First, you can search for a database by title.  This search also finds keywords in the description of the title, such as, marketing or environment.  You can also search or locate databases by subject.  On the right hand side of this screen, if there’s a Librarian produced guide on the topic, it will also appear.


Journals A-Z is where you locate what journal titles SCF has available to you full text.  This is great to use when you’re using another search and hit a pay wall. That is, when something on the internet asks you for money to view an article.  Search for the publication name here and you may find a full text instantly readable version here.


We have also set up a Google Scholar search that will show you what SCF has available to you. Use this customized link to perform a scholarly search and look for SCF FULL TEXT link on the right hand side of the search results.  Follow that link to full text.  This is an expert search that many Professor’s use.


Course reserves is a searchable electronic list of professor donated textbooks and course related reading.


The next drop down box is Librarian created subject and help guides.  Many high schools no longer have librarians on their staff, so the terms that your Professors use may be unfamiliar. Such as: Scholarly, peer reviewed. You may need to know how to evaluate and annotate resources. These guides will also help find specific databases to help with an assignment. Remember – we have over 100 of them!
 
Some are specialized like the Fitne Nursing theorists evideos or broad covering many disciplines all in one search.  Academic Search Complete is a database that is comprehensive. We recommend this database the most as its coverage includes primarily scholarly journals from Astronomy to Zoology. It’s a great place to begin a search.


Our search box to the right searches our library catalog from every library page.


The navigation bar is on most every page that the library produces. If you can’t find something, you can always find help.  


The rest of the page has sections telling you about library services and library announcements.  Did you know we lend out ipads?  We also lend microphones and video cameras. We have a section dedicated to student recreational reading.  You can make suggestions of titles, authors and series to add to this and our Student Choice DVD collection.


If you have any questions, please use any of the ways we’ve provided to ask.  We want you to be successful in your academic pursuits. We’re here to help.

 

State College of Florida Libraries State College of Florida Libraries