Faculty Professional Development Fall 2013: Calendar for Faculty Professional Workshops

Adjunct and Faculty Professional Development for Fall 2013. Classes, instruction, team teaching and more.

List

How to Register

 

The following are open for registration: (registration information at end of list).

The Faculty Professional Development program is still seeking workshops for Bradenton, Lakewood Ranch, Venice and Online for Fall 2013.

HOW FACULTY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT CERTIFICATION AND MAINTENANCE WORKS.

 

 

 


 

Spring 2014 Schedule

Friday, February 21 – Faculty/Staff Development Day - REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN ON BANNER.

 

Assessing Assessments: Want to learn how to assess your students' learning?
Presenters: Barry Puett, Professor and Department Chair; Suzanne Bechtol, Assistant Professor; Gladys Green, Assistant Professor
CRN 2042
Thursday, February 27, 1-3pm (Also offered March 27)
Bradenton Campus Room 6-130

Learning Objectives:
At the completion of this workshop, the student should be able to:

  • Judge whether or not the Student Learning Objectives for their courses are written appropriately
  • Analyze whether they are measuring the Student Learning Objectives for the course,
  • Evaluate which student learning objectives should be used to measure program wide outcomes
  • Create proof of your effective teaching

Assessing Assessments: Want to learn how to assess your students' learning? What is that SLOMAP thingy? This seminar will focus on the use of your course objectives, bloom's taxonomy, and common sense to develop effective assignments and evaluate whether they are working. A good refresher for experienced professors, and a great training session for new faculty.

 

MARCH

How to Manage Your Own Personal Economy
Presenter:  Kristen L. Zaborski, Economics Instructor (Guru)
CRN 2012
Friday, March 14, 11-1 
Venice Campus Room 418

Learning Objectives:

  • The participant will learn about various retirement planning options offered outside the college.
  • The participant will discover new possibilities in-- order to reach retirement goals. 
  • The participant will evaluate their finances, and discover new possible ways of better managing money. 
  • The participant will discover new possible ways of saving. 
  • The participant will learn how to possibly reduce their overall household budget. 
  • The participant will learn how to use Cost/Benefit Analysis for everyday decisions. 
  • The participant will learn the importance of opportunity costs. 

This workshop will provide simple, yet effective tools to anyone who is interested in making better financial decisions that directly impact them. It's time to face your finances head on!

 
Taming the Grading Monster: An Introduction to Using Turnitin
Presenter:  Dennielle True, Professor of Language and Literature
CRN 2045
Thursday, March 27, 2-4pm.
Brandon Campus Room 6-130
 
Learning Objectives:
 
Participants will learn how to:
  • Set up a Turnitin Dropbox and configure it to the gradebook in Angel.
  • Use the originality check (i.e. the plagiarism check) in Turnitin.
  • Implement the various features of Grademark (an element of Turnitin) to optimize the quality of feedback students receive on written work and streamline the time necessary to do so -- via the Grademark comments library and the audio feedback tool.

 

 

 Assessing Assessments: Want to learn how to assess your students' learning?
Presenters: Barry Puett, Professor and Department Chair; Suzanne Bechtol, Assistant Professor; Gladys Green, Assistant Professor
CRN 2043
Thursday, March 27, 1-3pm (Also offered February 27)
Bradenton Campus Room 6-130

Learning Objectives:
At the completion of this workshop, the student should be able to:

  • Judge whether or not the Student Learning Objectives for their courses are written appropriately
  • Analyze whether they are measuring the Student Learning Objectives for the course,
  • Evaluate which student learning objectives should be used to measure program wide outcomes
  • Create proof of your effective teaching

Assessing Assessments: Want to learn how to assess your students' learning? What is that SLOMAP thingy? This seminar will focus on the use of your course objectives, bloom's taxonomy, and common sense to develop effective assignments and evaluate whether they are working. A good refresher for experienced professors, and a great training session for new faculty.

 

ONLINE

Five Things about EBSCO Databases
Instructor:  Mark Marino, Information Literacy Librarian
ONLINE  Current-April 1, 2014, Self-paced, Rolling enrollment
CRN 2013

Learning Objectives:

* Understand EBSCO publisher's many functions for professional and instructional use
* Apply EBSCO tools to extract, record and manage information
* Identify potential sources of information via EBSCO's search utilities

Learn how to filter your searches, export articles and citations, and set up your own personal EBSCO account, where you can create customized folders and email alerts. 

Five Things to Do With PowerPoint
Instructor:  Rhonda Kitchens, Digital Presence Librarian
ONLINE Current-April 1, 2014, Self-paced, Rolling Enrollment
CRN 2017

Learning Objectives:

* Apply more comprehensive content model to PowerPoint
* Explore free and low cost technology/techniques that use PowerPoint
* Design a plan to transform existing PowerPoint

Take one great PowerPoint and turn it into 5 different presentations, promotions or learning aids.  Take your content and turn it in a plethora of tools to reach a variety of learner types, technological situations and information delivery methods.

 

RefWorks For Faculty
Instructor: Meg Hawkins,, Access Services, Supervisor
ONLINE  February 21-April 1, 2014, Self-paced, Rolling enrollment
CRN 2046

Learning Objectives:

  • Create a Refworks account
  • Manage folders in Refworks
  • Export library resources to your Refworks account
  • Install & use Write-N-Cite
  • Choose an assignment to integrate with RefWorks
  • Add Refworks instructions for Students to Angel

 




Adjunct Coordinator  : Mary DiTaranto
Faculty Professional Development Workshop Coordinator :  Rhonda K. Kitchens, Venice Campus Librarian

 


How to Register.

To register for workshops:
1. Go to SCF Connect
2. Log in ( email name before SCF.edu, password same as SCF email )
3. Select the “Faculty” tab
4. Select the “Banner Self Service”
5. Select the “Student Services and Financial Aid” 6. Select “Registration”
7. Select “Look Up Classes to Add”
8. For the Term Selection, select “Faculty Prof. Devel. Fall13”
9. In the Subject line, select “FPDZ: Faculty Professnl Dvlpmnt”
10. Then at the bottom of the screen, select “Course Search”
11. Select “View Sections"  
 
If you are unable to sign in please contact: A small change needs to made to your account.
DiTaranto, Mary P. , Adjunct Coordinator, Academic Affairs, ditaram9@scf.edu, (941) 752-5247.  
 
If you have more questions or suggestions for workshops:
Rhonda K. Kitchens, kitcher@scf.edu.

Fall 2013 FPD

September 7 and 14
Various CRNS
Adjunct Faculty Certification

Friday, September 6
CRN 1009
Art of the Costume REINVENTED
The exhibition, Art of the Costume “REINVENTED”, will open this Friday, Sep. 6, from 6 – 8 p.m. in the SCF Fine Art Gallery, Bradenton. We hope you will join us for this very special event – and encourage your students to attend as well.  The event is free and open to the public – and more information can be found in the news links below.

Sarasota Herald Tribune | VIdeo

Friday, October 11
You Wanna Engage Students:  Creative Assessments
CRN 1036
2-4pm, Venice Campus
Room : 334
Presenter:  Matt Masucci


Friday,  October 18
The Blended Classroom
CRN 1008
 10am-12pm , Venice Campus
Room:  418
Presenters:  Michael Rogers, Kristen Zaborski
Professors Rogers and Kristin Zaborski. This will be a roundtable discussion for those instructors who have already or are currently teaching a hybrid course, as well as those who may be considering teaching a hybrid course in the future.

 

Wednesday, October 30
EBSCO  Databases, Tips and Tricks
CRN 1056

5-7pm, Bradenton Library Instruction Room, 2nd Floor
Learn how to fine tune  your searches in the EBSCO databases and set up your own personal EBSCO account. You will learn how to create customized folders and email alerts and  export articles and citations. This workshop is presented by Evening Reference Library, Kirsty Beauchamp

Friday,  November 1
Spring into Spring Semester with Springer eResources
CRN 1055
Nov. 1 - 10-11am. Online One Hour
Blended – 1 hour online and 1 hour by appointment
Webinar November 1, 2013 from 10am-11am – requires both phone and internet.
Schedule working session with a Librarian before 12/12/13
Join Librarian Judy Born in a Springer webinar about Springer eBooks, eJournals and Images.    SpringerLink provides full text unlimited access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, business, economics, ecology, computer science, religion, history and more.  
Then schedule an appointment in your office or the library to practice your skills discovering resources, downloading to devices and using in Angel.

 

Thursday, November 7th,
5 Things About EBSCO Resources
CRN 1037
2-4pm, Bradenton
Library Instruction Room 2rd Floor
Presenter:  Mark Marino
Join Librarian Mark Marino in this workshop to practice your skills discovering and sharing knowledge with the tools available in the EBSCO suite of databases. Learn how to filter your searches, export articles and citations, and set up your own personal EBSCO account, where you can create customized folders and email alerts.
 

Tuesday, November 5
EBSCO  Databases, Tips and Tricks
CRN 1057

5-7pm, Bradenton Library Instruction Room, 2nd Floor
Learn how to fine tune  your searches in the EBSCO databases and set up your own personal EBSCO account. You will learn how to create customized folders and email alerts and  export articles and citations. This workshop is presented by Evening Reference Library, Kirsty Beauchamp 

 ONLINE
Begin October 15 til end of Fall Term
Refworks:  Set-up and Implementation
CRN 1039
Presenters: Margaret Hawkins, Theresa Smith


ONLINE
Begin October 15 til end of Fall term
Applying : Library Tested Ideas using Bloom's Digital Taxonomy
CRN 1040

Presenter:  Rhonda K. Kitchens
Overview. Will require one completed project.
 

ONLINE
Begin October 15 til end of Fall term
Creating: Library tested ideas using Bloom's Digital Taxonomy
CRN 1041
Presenter:  Rhonda K. Kitchens



Friday, November 22
PTCH : Free multi-media rapid authoring tool
CRN 1038
CANCELLED
Library Instruction Room 2nd Floor
Presenter:  Rhonda Kitchens
What can you teach in 60 Seconds?  PTCH is a free app for iPhone and iPad that can be used to ultra-rapidly produce a 60 second multi-media presentation. If you do not have an iPad, the Library lends the for 4 hour intervals. This F2F will provide iPads for attendees that need them.  In this workshop, we will produce 2-3 presentations.
 

Saturday, November 23
Three for One: "Tuning Up" Your Online Course for Maximum Effect
CRN 1058
9-11,  LWR
Room 213
1.       Automating Student Feedback in Online Classes- Using PhraseExpress
Use this simple free tool to automate your most used feedback, customize common student questions and issues.   PhraseExpress can save you hours of typing by automating your common responses to individual student assignments, as well as other frequent tasks.  Blaze through your Discussion Forum grading with personalized student feedback in minutes, not hours.
 2.       Using your Gradebook to Improve Student Success-
 Ever wonder why your students never seem to know their grades?  Why they are surprised they aren’t doing well?  Try these Angel techniques to make your gradebook more effective by switching from an assignment based to a time-based Gradebook.
 3.       6 Quick Organizing Steps in Course Layout to Reduce Questions in your Online Class-
 Use these six quick layout tips to make your course easier to navigate and make if more student-friendly. Lessons from Amazon, Linked-In and Walmart to organize your class for best effect.

Saturday, December 7
Angel 101: Bring your questions and find answers.
CRN 1059
2-4, LWR
Room 213
Bring your questions on basics of angel mechanics and Christine Sharrio will help you solve them.
 

Saturday, December 7
Angel Rubrics
CRN 1060
12-2 LWR
Room 213
Christine Sharrio presents. Learn how to add qualitative rubrics to discussions and journals, and learn how to add Qualitative Scoring Rubrics to assessments in Angel. Quantitative Rubrics help reduce time needed for data entry…..Qualitative rubrics help students better understand what's required of them before submitting an assignment and after by showing them where they fall on the continuum of proficiency for a given grading criteria. The interactive nature of angel rubrics helps faculty in grading assignments by auto-calculating the grade. SACS is also a fan! Did you know you can also add a non-grading supplemental rubric?  Come learn more! Bring your rubric and we can build it in your Learning Object Repository (LOR) , a shared repository or class allowing you the ability to easily copy them from semester to semester and/or share them with your department!

The State College of Florida Libraries :

Bradenton Library : 941-752-5305
Venice Library : 941-408-1435
Databases |Linking to LINCCWeb