This is the "Civil War" page of the "Civil War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Citation MLA Citation FAQs Help: contacts & hours

Civil War   Tags: civil war, enc 1101, research  

Research guide to the United States Civil War (1861-1865).
Last Updated: May 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/civilwar Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Civil War Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Five Questions to ask when starting a research project.

 

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Full-text and peer reviewed articles in a variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, & the arts.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

American History in Video

Rich collection of video available online for the study of American history.

Biography in Context

Thousands of full text biographies, both historical and contemporary.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

More than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more.

History Reference Center

Full text reference works, articles, historical documents, and biographies. More than 12,000 historical photos and maps.

New York Times Historical

Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1853 - 2003

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)

Draws from over 600 periodicals covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences.

Sources in US History: The Civil War

Digital collection of primary documents, including narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.

 

Useful Websites

Digital History: Civil War

Contains an online textbook, primary sources, images, & more.

Internet History Sourcebook

Full text and primary sources for Civil War history from Fordham University.

Library of Congress

Maps, photographs, resource guides, & more.

Smithsonian Institution

Civil War portraits from the National Portrait Gallery.

 

Films On Demand -- Digital Video

Click on the icon to view Ken Burns documentary The Civil War.

 Films on Demand Logo

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip