Core SCF Resources
Core Resources : Need to find poetry criticisms and poetical reviews by literary critics? Key SCF Library databases, eLibraries, digital video and more.
QUICK LINKS to Core Resources:
- Librarian Demo
- Literature Resources from Gale
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
- Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
- Literature Critcism Online ( Gale )
- Why can't I find anything on my poem?
Poetry Criticism Resources
Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
WHAT: Contains eBooks most commonly found in reference collections. However, these can be reached 24/7, read in full text or audio and are available to multiple users working on the same project.
WHY: Contains Poetry for Students series.
TIPS: Use the ADVANCED search and select PUBLICATION TITLE. Type Poetry for Students. Next line, select KEYWORD. Enter topic, name of poem or poet.
TUTORIALS: Guided Tour
Literature Resources from Gale
WHAT: The largest, most well regarded collection of literary criticisims, essays, interviews, primary sources and more. Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Includes plays/dramas, poetry, short stories, fiction and non-fiction works. It is stronger with well known authors.
WHY: Collects literary criticisms contemporary to when the work was published to current literary criticisms.
TUTORIAL: Guided Tour
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
WHAT: While the library catalog searches the titles, subject and keywords to this eBook collection, the advanced search does a full text search. While the full text search pulls up many results, this is a great way to find essays, comparisons and hard to find literary references.
WHY: This online service includes series such as Cambridge Companions to Literature, Bloom's Notes and Cliffs Notes.
TIPS: Use the ADVANCED SEARCH and select to search FULL TEXT.
WHAT : Vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines. Most works are scholarly and peer reviewed. One of JSTOR's key strengths is that its full text coverage goes centuries back.
WHY: Most databases only go back to the mid 1990s.
TIPS: Use the ADVANCED SEARCH, select ARTICLE, identify start/end date and select LANGUAGE & LITERATURE. This is not the best database for current events.
TUTORIALS: Advanced Searching Tips | Detailed Searching Tips
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
WHAT: Covers plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, Hispanic literature, fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy, quotations in context. As this database contains plot summaries, synopses and other types of reviews, care must be taken when seeking literary criticisms only.
WHY: Useful for newer, less known authors.
TIPS: If seeking only a Literary Critcism, select ADVANCED search, uncheck search limit box and select LITERARY CRITICISM only.
Prefer short, concise criticisms? The Explicator is in Academic Search Complete. Go here to search it directly.
"Concentrating on works that are frequently anthologized and studied in college classrooms, The Explicator , with its yearly index of titles, is a must for college and university libraries and teachers of literature. Text-based criticism thrives in The Explicator . One of few in its class, the journal publishes concise notes on passages of prose and poetry. Each issue contains between 25 and 30 notes on works of literature, ranging from ancient Greek and Roman times to our own, from throughout the world."
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
WHAT: Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
WHY: Covers a variety of specific literary journals ( Explicator, Studies in Romanticism, Victorian Poetry).
TIPS: Make sure to select for FULL TEXT. Include literary terms in search, such as, themes and criticism.
Poets.org resource from the Academy of American Poets with thousands of poems, essays, biographies. Particularly strong on current, living poets.
Mcgraw-Hill Online Poetry Glossary. Poetic terms and concepts useful for analyzing poems.
Poetry Explication from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Reviews some important techniques in poetry explication.
Critical Reading: A Guide. Professor John Lye of Brock University. Written for his first year students, this is a clear outline of how to approach analyzing poetry.