This is the "Finding a Scholarly Psychology Journal Article" page of the "Finding a Scholarly Psychology Journal Article" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding a Scholarly Psychology Journal Article   Tags: academic, conclusion, conclusions, credible, cuombo, full, methods, pdf, professional, psychological, psychology, reseach, research, scholar, scholarly, text  

Your Professor wants you to find a Peer-Reviewed Scholarly research article. Further it has to have a methodology, review, thesis, conclusions and other elements. This is how you find those articles.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/finding_a_scholarly_psychology_article Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Finding a Scholarly Psychology Journal Article Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

APA Help

WATCH: The Basics of APA Syle by the American Psychological Association (Uses Flash)
More: http://apastyle.org/

WATCH:  How to identify citation elements in an online database article.

More questions about properly citing an online journal article? Go to #34 on this link or find "article in database" from this link.

 

  Ask A Librarian

 

Did this help?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Quick Overview

QUICK Overview of the Library Instruction for Professor Cumbo's class. 
Open up in full screen to view details. 

 

 

Scholarly vs Popular Articles

TIPS: Yale Colleges Writing Center describes a scholarly article as sources that have been approved by a group with recognized expertise in the field under discussion. Scholarly articles are also some times called peer-reviewed. SCF subscribes to databases that provide these academic resources. Scholarly sources are found in journals where editors make sure the article is read by experts and leaders in the field.

READ: Additional help identifying a scholarly article.

To find a scholarly article in a database you can often check a box that limits your search to peer-reviewed journals. This box is sometimes on the Basic Search, but almost always on an Advanced Search in a database. As database publishers vary, the place or the term used to limit this search is different.

When looking for this search limit, also check Full Text. This makes sure that the article you find is an article you can read immediately. SCF does provide free interlibrary loan on articles that we do not own. This takes some time. Please ask your Librarian for assistance.

Researcher beware : search results are not necessarily scholarly articles, but are in academic journals. Sometimes these journals have book reviews, news sections, announcements, reports, updates and other sections that are not academic articles. Ways to identify an online scholarly or peer-reviewed article:
1 ) Author(s) - Clearly identified author(s) usually with credentials
2) References -  lists of works cited at the end
3) Title -  usually descriptive, lengthy and uses professional terms
4) Length -  is the article 5 pages or longer?
5) Ask  - check with your Librarian or Professor
6) Review - look at the elements of the article. Make sure it has what the assignment requires, such as, tables, conclusions, methodology and other research articles elements.

 

Still don't understand the difference between scholarly and popular articles?
Rutger's University's presentation explains in more detail.
Peabody Library's Scholarly versus Popular Sources video
 
 

Recommended Database

Questions?# How to Find a Journal Article :  Watch.  Sign is is your G#. The PIN is the last 4 digits of your G#.

To sign into SCF resources, your Borrower ID is your G#. The PIN is the last 4 digits of your G#.

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

* Identify PDF Full Text
* Cite Using APA

 

  Instant Invite

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip