This is the "Welcome Health Services Admin. Students" page of the "Health Services Administration B.A.S." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Services Administration B.A.S.   Tags: health services, health services administration, health services management, hsa  

Last Updated: Mar 2, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/healthservicesadministration Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Welcome Health Services Admin. Students Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Library Resources

Search the Catalog for books, ebooks, journal articles, digital videos and more. Go to the advanced search page and try using the phrase "health services administration" as a subject search. 

Log in using your G# as the Borrower ID and the last the four digits of your G# as the PIN.

For a more targeted search of scholarly articles, use the Recommended Databases listed to the right.

 

Ask A Librarian

Recommended Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on many fields including health services administration.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Business and Economics eJournal Collection (Springer) Full text access to over 100 journals in business and economics.

Health and Nursing Includes Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, PsycARTICLES, MEDLINE with Full Text,CINAHL Plus Full Text (EBSCO). cComprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 750 journals - many of which cannot be found anywhere else.

Health Reference Centers Academic (Gale) Includes journals plus Gale's well-regarded medical reference encyclopedia series. Be careful, an encyclopedia entry is not an article. You can limit your searches to "documents with full text" and "peer-reviewed publications." Make sure you choose a search result that is from a journal. This database uses a tab system. If you click on Academic Journals, it will eliminate the encyclopedia entries from your search result list.

Hoovers Premium In-depth financial comparisons and analysis of companies, people, or industries. Search for specific facilities (such as Manatee Memorial Hospital) for a company overview, press releases, and financial information.

 

How To Identify a Scholarly Article

TIPS: Yale College's Writing Center describes a scholarly article as sources that have been approved by a group with recognized expertise in the field under discussion. Scholarly articles are also some times called peer-reviewed. SCF subscribes to databases that provide these academic resources. Scholarly sources are found in journals where editors make sure the article is read by experts and leaders in the field.

READ: Additional help identifying a scholarly article.

To find a scholarly article in a database you can often check a box that limits your search to peer-reviewed journals. This box is sometimes on the Basic Search, but almost always on an Advanced Search in a database. As database publishers vary, the place or the term used to limit this search is different.

When looking for this search limit, also check Full Text. This makes sure that the article you find is an article you can read immediately. SCF does provide free interlibrary loan on articles that we do not own. This takes some time. Please ask your Librarian for assistance.

Researcher beware : search results are not necessarily scholarly articles, but are in academic journals. Sometimes these journals have book reviews, news sections, announcements, reports, updates and other sections that are not academic articles. Ways to identify an online scholarly or peer-reviewed article:
1 ) Author(s) - Clearly identified author(s) usually with credentials
2) References -  lists of works cited at the end
3) Title -  usually descriptive, lengthy and uses professional terms
4) Length -  is the article 5 pages or longer?
5) Ask  - check with your Librarian or Professor
6) Review - look at the elements of the article. Make sure it has what the assignment requires, such as, tables, conclusions, methodology and other research articles elements.

Still don’t understand the difference between scholarly and popular articles?
Rutger’s University’s presentation explains in more detail.
Peabody Library's Scholarly versus Popular Sources video

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip