Policies
Library Card
The SCF Library has several types of borrowers. If you are a currently enrolled student, staff or faculty, your SCF ID Card is your library card. Currently enrolled students may borrow from the Circulation & Periodical Collections, Student Choice book and DVDs Collections; they have Inter Library Loan privileges and may access databases and ebooks remotely.
If you are a registered community borrower (this includes former staff or students), your public library card is what we accept. You must register at the front desk. Community Borrowers are valid for one year.
In addition, the SCF Library permits students taking non-credit classes from Corporate Community & Development to register as Seasonal Borrowers. Please bring your paperwork when you register. Seasonal Borrowers are valid for three months from the date from their last class meeting.
Registered community borrowers or registered seasonal borrowers may check out Circulation books (limit 3) and Periodicals (limit 2). See the Library Forms box for this document.
Faculty and Staff, upon leaving or retiring, become community borrowers, and retain ILL privileges.
The SCF Library is also part of a reciprocal borrowing agreement with all community colleges and all Florida Public Universities. Any currently enrolled student in good standing (no overdue materials) may borrow books from these participating schools.
· You must take your student id and a picture id to the remote library.
· Private colleges and universities are not part of this agreement.
· Books must be returned to the lending (remote) library, not the home library.
· Overdues from any institution will affect your borrowing privileges.
· Visiting students must take your current student id and a picture id to the Library Circulation Desk [Bradenton or Venice Campus].
Loan Periods & Renewals
|
Circulation & Student Choice Books |
3 weeks |
May be renewed |
|
Periodicals |
1 week |
May be renewed |
|
Student Choice DVDs (limit 2) |
1 week |
NOT renewable |
|
Inter Library Loan Items |
Determined by the Lending Library |
Student Choice DVDs are not renewed, but other Library materials may be renewed for a second loan period.
Lost & Damaged Library materials
The Library charges for lost or damaged materials. If a book or other item is returned in damaged condition, a hold will be placed upon your academic account and access to online databases and other library privileges will be denied until the item is returned, replaced or the appropriate fine is paid. A lost item may be replaced (in the case of a book or DVD) or you may pay for the replacement cost. In the case of a lost or damaged periodical, a flat fee is assessed. In addition, a processing fee is also added to the cost of each library item.
Food and Drinks
Food and closed drinks are permitted in the library. There are a number of paper towel dispensers and garbage cans placed throughout the Library. Please use care with library materials or computers and notify Library staff of accidents as soon as possible
Photocopiers & Printers
Photocopiers and computer printers are available in both libraries. The cost is .10 cents per page for black and white copies. Color copies cost .15 cents per page. Copiers and printers use copy cards only. Your student ID card is your print copy card. You must add value to the card. Cards are used for both copiers and printers throughout campus.
Book Requests
It is possible to borrow books, and other library materials between the three campus locations. There is a courier that travels between the Bradenton, Lakewood Ranch and Venice Campus Libraries. You may place requests for items electronically through the PRIMO discovery tool, or ask a library staff member for assistance. You will need to know your student id number. You must also provide us a means of contacting you, either e-mail or phone number. It usually takes 24-48 hours to supply your request.
Inter Library Loan
Inter-Library Loan is a service in which SCF borrows, on a student's behalf, books or journal articles from another library. It is best to work with a librarian when making an Inter-Library Loan request.
Community & Seasonal borrowers are not eligible for Inter Library Loan.
Items may be electronically through the PRIMO discovery tool or the OCLC FirstSearch database. There is also a form available at the Circulation Desk.
Always provide as much information as possible to speed the lending process; you should also ask a librarian to approve any written request.
This service can take up to 2 weeks, depending upon the type of materials, and the lending policies of the remote library. Usually there is no cost, however, some lending libraries charge for shipping or photocopy costs.
You will be notified before we fill a request if there is a cost involved. Generally reference books and videos are not loaned out.
If you get an error message (like ‘Self-ownership found’) when trying to request an Interlibrary loan item from another institution, you can just call 941-752-5657 and leave a voicemail with:
· your G#
· your phone #
· title/author
· and ISBN #
If you have any questions, contact ILL Clerk, Carolyn Zaput, at 752-5657 or zaputc@scf.edu. Please be sure to include all of the information indicated.
Reserves
Instructors often place supplemental class material on Reserve. These materials are located at the Circulation Desk. Reserves are for library use only. You must have your current SCF ID to access Reserve material. Having overdue library materials will limit your ability to access Reserve material.
Group Study Rooms
Group study rooms are available for student use. Usage is "first come first served", however priority is given to student groups, disabled students and students that need to view DVD & VHS materials. DVD & VHS viewers are limited so please plan accordingly if you need to view a speech, DVD or VHS for class. There is one study room [Study Room H] equipt with a Mac computer intended for presentation production (Bradenton). Please call the Circulation Desk if you have questions.
Disabled Services
The Library will assist in any way that it can. Please coordinate any library services that you may need with the Disability Resource Center (DRC) 941-752-5295.
Computers & WiFi
The Library has a number of networked computers (mostly PCs & 2 Macs) for use. Priority is given to student doing course work. All others may be asked to wait if there is high demand for computers.
A limited number of netbook computers are available for on a first come first serve basis. Currently netbooks cannot be reserved. They are for use within the Library.
Netbooks can be checked out by students with proper ID who are currently registered and in the student database. Borrowers are financially responsible for the loss of or any damages to the Notebook.
Notebooks are checked out at the Circulation desk .A fine of $500 will be placed in Banner for the loss or damage of a Netbook.
WiFi is available for students and community patrons. Students should connect using their SCF Connect logon. Community patrons need to register as ‘guests’ at the Circulation Desk.
Library Hours & Locations
Bradenton
5840 26th Street West
Bradenton, FL 34207
(941) 752-5305
(941) 752-5308 (fax)
Normal Hours
Mon. - Thurs. 7:45am - 9:00pm
Friday 7:45am - 4:00 pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday 5:00-9:00pm
Venice
8000 South Tamiami Trail
Venice, FL 34293
(941) 408-1435
(941) 408-1445 (fax)
Normal Hours
Mon. - Thurs. 9:00am - 8:00pm
Friday 9:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed
Lakewood Ranch
eMail: Reference E-Mail
Text: Preface with SCF
941 348 2105
Local & Online Libraries
Local
- Florida Electronic Library
- Manatee County Libraries
- Sarasota County Libraries
- University of South Florida-Sarasota
- Ringling School of Art & Design Library
- John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art
- Sarasota Music Archive
- Mote Marine Laboratory Library
- Stetson University College of Law Library

Loading...
