SCF Databases & Library Resources
SCF sign in is your G#. The PIN is the last 4 digits of your G#.
- Literature Resource Center
- Literary Reference Center
- Literature Criticism Online
- Academic Search Complete
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Humanities Full Text
- Humanities, Social Sciences, and Law eJournal Collection (Springer)
- Oxford Journals
- eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- Librarian Demo
Literature Resources from Gale
WHAT: The largest, most well regarded collection of literary criticisims, essays, interviews, primary sources and more. Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Strongest with well known authors like Mark Twain, Robert Frost, Hermann Melville, Elizabeth Bishop, F. Scott Fitzgerald and other classics.
- short stories
Librarian Recommended Research Sequences:
Well known author/Classic Book, Poem or Short Story :
Slightly known author/More recent Book, Poem or Short Story:
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
- The Explicator,
- Academic Search Complete,
- Humanities Full Text
Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
WHY: includes the full text of the following works: Literary Newsmakers for Students, Literary Themes for Students, Novels for Students and Short Stories for Students.
TUTORIAL: Guided Tour
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
WHAT: Covers plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, Hispanic literature, fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy, quotations in context.
Strengths: Genre Fiction, Newer authors
Warning: As this database contains plot summaries, synopses and other types of reviews, care must be taken when seeking literary criticisms only.
Search inside The Explicator specifically.
WHY: Most databases only go back to the mid 1990s. This database provides a rich scholarly historical context for centuries.
TIPS: Use the Advanced Search, select article, identify start/end date and select Discipline : Language and Literature.
Other more general and cross disciplinary searches:
Academic Search Complete - General database that
covers disciplines from Astonomy to Zoology
Humanities Full Text - Contains popular and classical literary journals and magazines. Often very interesting articles are in this database that can't be found in others.