Print Resources
Search Library Resources. -- Narrow your search to format. You can select ebooks, books. scholarly journal articles, newspapers, digital video and more.
TIPS:
-Search phrases using " ".
Example: video games = "video games".
-Use truncation if you are not sure about the ending of your search term. ? or *
Example: Expen? = Expense, Expensive, Expenditure
Suggested Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy -- 1st Floor/Reference REF B51 .E53 2006
-- How to cite a Print Encyclopedia work in MLA.

Oxford Companion to Philosophy - 1st Floor/Reference REF B51 .O94 2005 and World Philosopher and Their Works - 1st Floor/Reference REF B51 .E53 2006 and
Reference B104 .W67 2000.
-- How to cite a Print Dictionary work in MLA.
-- How to cite a multivolume Print work in MLA.
The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas / 1st Floor/Reference REF CB9 .N49 2005
-- How to cite a multivolume Print work in MLA.
Getting Started with Online Resources
Finding A Philosopher : SCF Databases
Biography in Context (Gale) : Switch search to OCCUPATION. Type in Philosopher. Review search results for research topic. Select name and the search results will provide links to information from newspapers, references, academic articles, images and more.
How to cite a database in MLA.
Researching Philosophy & Philosophers : SCF Databases
How to Find a Book or eBook
Watch |
How to Find a Journal Article
Watch |
Humanities Full Text ( EBSCO) : Contains many well regarded Philosophical journals and journals that cover Philosophical topics.
How to cite a database in MLA.
JSTOR : Scholarly database with articles can go back for centuries of academic writing on a topic.
How to cite a database in MLA.
Academic Search Complete - SCF's widest ranging database with a plethora of journals covering a wide range of disciplines. Here you might find unique ways Philosophic discourse has entered other discipines or been used in different theories or arguments.
How to cite a database in MLA.
Social Science Full Text (EBSCO) : Contains scholarly and popular articles on Social Science topics.
How to cite a database in MLA.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) : Search eBooks full text. Many works on Philosophy and books on specific Philosophers.
How to cite an ebook in MLA.
CQ Researcher - If the philosopher you are researching has overlap in public debate, ethics, politics or legislation issues, searth their name in this database to determine how their work has played out in the American Government arena.
How to cite a database in MLA.
Researching Philosophy & Philsophers : Recommended Websites
How to Evaluate Internet Resources
Read |
BBC's In Out Time Philosophy podcasts. Includes brief abstract of topic and relevant links.
How to cite a podcast in MLA.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Brief overviews of Philsophers and Philosophical concepts. Editors are identified and associated with their University. Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Use instead of Wikipedia.
How to cite an entry in an online reference work in MLA.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Designed so that entries are maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. Use instead of Wikipedia.
How to cite an entry in an online reference work in MLA.
NOESIS Complete - Peer reviewed Philosophy Search engine. Information is from many types of sources including online scholarly journals. Look for an ABOUT link to determine what the source is that you are using. Use instead of Google.
How to cite a short work on a website in MLA.
How to cite an online scholarly journal in MLA.


Loading...
