Skip to main content

ENC 1102 : Poetry Research & Analysis

Poignant databases, passionate tips, and pleasing resources for Poetry Research.

Librarian Demo

If you cannot review this video, go HERE.

 

 

Poetry Research

 

Hello, my name is Rhonda K. Kitchens. I’m a librarian at Venice Campus Library and can often be located online with other other SCF librarians via the Library chat, text and email Ask A Librarian Service.

 

 

The main page that pulls together all the library’s resources is scf.edu/library.  When you click on full text in the Library catalog or go into databases you will be prompted for a log in.  It is your G#.  The 0 are zeroes. The PIN is unlike any other sign in you have on the campus. It is the last 4 digits of your G#. 

 

 

You can reach the Library website from the main college page or by going to SCF.edu/library.   From there or the library catalog,  select Databases by Subject.

 

 

The Library has over 100 databases. But not all of them contain searchable full text literary journals.  In fact, one of the greatest downfalls in doing literary research is finding brief, substandard book reviews.  Grangers is not a database for finding criticisms but for finding poems.  However if you need to find poems on the same subject it is useful  Artemis Literary Resources is our new super search for literature. It combines two other databases into one. It is a great place to start. Virtual Reference Library is a database of reference books from many disciplines. But with a little skill, it too can be used successfully for literary research. The following are librarian demos for Grangers,  Artemis. and Virtual Reference Library.

 

Video Step by Step.

Under the Literature section of Database by Subject, go to Granger’s. Select advanced search.

Granger’s is not a search for articles or poetry criticisms. Only use this if you need to find poems on a similar subject or need to find a credible full text of the poem.  If you have your poem(s), skip this section.

It is a database that contains some full text poems. It has very brief biographies.  It let’s your search by first and last line. It will find poems by subject.  It will bring the full text of two poems up for you to compare, but it does not do the analysis for you.

In Granger’s go to the advanced search.  There’s a few way to search for a poem. In this demonstration we are going to select subject.  Make sure to also select to search poems in full text. 

The search results will bring up poems on that subject. If you see an author with “bio” by her or his name, it often indicates a better known author that will have a body of work written about their work.  This is important as your assignment will often require you find scholarly criticisms of the poem.  For instance, a poem by Hermann Melville called “The Fish” may seem to be a good idea as he is a well known author, you will find when looking for more information on the poem, that his poetry didn’t receive as much critical attention.  Not every poem written has literary criticism written about it.

 

Video Step by Step.

Under the Literature section of Database by Subject, go to Artemis. Select Advanced search.

Go to Content type and select “Literary Criticism. ”  In advanced search, type in keywords from name of work into the field. Leave out a, an, the and other nonessential words.  In person by or about, at least type the last name of the author.

Select from the Literature Criticism section if your Professor required that you only use those resources.

On the left you will see subjects. Click to see all.  Sometimes you can find themes or other ways to look at the poem. For instance for Elizabeth Bishop’s The Fish,  Change is listed as a theme with one linked article.

At the top of the search results you can – (minus) out search terms. To the left, you can add more in the search box.

When you go into the article at the top it allows for email, print , listen and download. It also has citation tools that will upload to our RefWorks. If you do not have a RefWorks account, you can still use the citation that is shown. Just make sure to correct it as the spacing and other items aren’t usually correct.  Use the Library’s Writing and Citing page to assist or ask a librarian in person or via Ask A Librarian services.

 

 

Go to Virtual Reference Gale. Select Advanced Search.

Select  “keyword” and type in a keyword from poem title.

Next field select Publication Title.  Select Poetry for Students.  This database of reference books also has Novels for Students, Short Stories for Students, literary theme works and more.

There’s many chapters to choose from that are useful for your research. Themes is particularly helpful. However, if you’ve been directed to use literary criticisms, select CRITICISM.  This isn’t hundred pages of criticisms.  Each criticism run from author to author.

 

You can also use this database to find poems on topics if you need to compare two poems. The citation tools on this database are not correct. They aren’t specific enough to citing the individual essays. See our Writing and Citing page under MLA for help for citing an essay in an anthology.

If you aren’t an enthusiastic reader, you may find this database to be the best to use.

 

 

And always remember, the Library staff is here to help with research.  Call us, chat with us, email us, text us, make an appointment face to face or online – we are available to students.

State College of Florida Libraries State College of Florida Libraries