Reference & Instruction Librarian
Building 3, Library & Learning Center
Finding Books in the Library
Welcome to the Library Guide for Art History and Art Appreciation!
The library has hundreds of art books on its shelves, and a wealth of knowledge in our online databases. To get started, you can choose a database to perform your research and then sign in with your MySCF account to begin searching.
You can also search for an artist, art movement, or medium in our library catalog. To filter your results, use the "Tweak Your Results" menu along the left-hand side. This will let you toggle between searching physical books held by the library and peer-reviewed journal articles online.
The books in the library are classified by subject. If you are browsing for art books, look for these codes on the spine of the book:
Art books can be found classified under "N"
- NA = Architecture
- NB = Sculpture
- NC = Drawing
- ND = Painting
- NE = Print Media (Printmaking)
- NK = Decorative Arts (Furniture, rugs, religious art)
Books on Photography can be found under "T"
- TR = Photography
Online Databases
These databases contain scholarly and reference material on the arts:
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
-
ArtStor Images This link opens in a new window
An image library for the Arts from international museums, libraries and artists' collections. Images for African-American, American History, Women's, Asian ,and Classical Art Studies. Anthropology, Architecture, Design, Medical History and other images of art, maps, drawings and more are included. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Rich database covering religions, art, architecture, journalism, literature, dance, history, literature, drama and comparative studies. Funded by FLVC.
-
Art Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Covers the entries from Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, & The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Funded by SCF Group License.
Database Tutorials
These video tutorials will help you navigate and search in the art databases:
-
JSTOR Video TutorialsOn this page you will find a selection of JSTOR's most helpful video tutorials.
-
ARTSTOR on JSTORTry the new experience on JSTOR. The Artstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. You can get started with Artstor on JSTOR using the resources below.
-
Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates a Guided Style Advanced Search on the new EBSCO user interfaces
-
Oxford Art Online Training VideoWelcome to the online tour for Oxford Art Online. This video demonstrates all of the key features and functionality available on the site.
Need Help?
Still have questions?
Visit us in person at the
- Bradenton Campus Library & Learning Center (Building 3)
- Lakewood Ranch Campus Learning Commons
- Venice Campus Dr. Bill Jervey, Jr Library
or ask us a question online.