Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

Resources for studying, reflecting, and taking action in issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion

"Sexual, racial, gender violence and other forms of discrimination and violence in a culture cannot be eliminated without changing the culture."

~ Charlotte Bunch

Books & eBooks About Sexism, Gender, & Sexual Orientation Discrimination

Everyday Sexism

The Everyday Sexism Project was founded by writer and activist Laura Bates in April 2012. It began life as a website where people could share their experiences of daily, normalized sexism, from street harassment to workplace discrimination to sexual assault and rape. The Project became a viral sensation, attracting international press attention and support from celebrities. The project has been credited with helping to spark a new wave of feminism.

Rethinking Sexism, Gender, and Sexuality

There has never been a more important time for students to understand sexism, gender, and sexuality--or to make schools nurturing places for all of us. The thought-provoking articles and curriculum in this life-changing book, will be invaluable to everyone who wants to address these issues in their classroom, school, home, and community.

Gender Inequality

Lorber gives an overview of organized feminism, its types, its approach to gender equality, and its theories and politics.

What Works

Gender equality is a moral and a business imperative. But unconscious bias holds us back, and de-biasing people's minds has proven to be difficult and expensive. Diversity training programs have had limited success, and individual effort alone often invites backlash. Behavioral design offers a new solution. By de-biasing organizations instead of individuals, we can make smart changes that have big impacts.

Genderqueer and non-binary genders

This book addresses the emerging field of genderqueer or non-binary genders - that is, individuals who do not identify as male or female. It considers theoretical, research, practice, and activist perspectives; and outlines a basis for good practice when working with non-binary individuals.

Gender Roles

This essential volume explores whether gender roles are important, how gender roles affect parenting and reproduction, how gender roles affect the workplace, and how gender roles are changing.

Understanding Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity

Until relatively recently homosexuality was considered a mental illness or a biological disorder, or worse. Today, lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people have the evidence of scientific research and their authentic experiences of happy and fulfilling lives to support the pride of identity that is their right. This book traces the "nature versus nurture" debate over the origin of same-sex attraction and gender identity. The theories put forth over the years--that there's a gay gene, that the way a child is raised can "turn" her gay, or that being gay is somehow a "choice"--all came to be used in the service of political agendas, often harming LGBT people. Examining the major genetic, biological, and psychological theories of the origins of homosexuality, this book questions those traditional notions of gender, gender identity, and sexual orientation that are at the center of LGBT people's sense of identity and their struggle for civil rights and a happy and fulfilling life. Each title in this series contains a foreword from the founder of the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network (GLSEN), color photos throughout, and back matter including: an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the chapter they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and provide readers with suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. And a Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the reader's knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.

The Gendered Society

In The Gendered Society, Michael S. Kimmel examines our basic beliefs about gender, arguing that men and women are more alike than we have ever imagined. Kimmel begins his discussion by observing that all cultures share the notion that men and women are different, and that the logical extension of this assumption is that gender differences cause the obvious inequalities between the sexes. In fact, he asserts that the reverse is true--genderinequality causes the differences between men and women.

Rethinking Gender in Early Childhood Education

`This is an important and thought-provoking book. The most useful thing about this book is that it clearly elaborates important theoretical ideas and illustrates how these are relevant to everyday practices in early childhood settings and to the deeply held principles and understanding of practitioners′- Early Education

Gender, Education and Work

Girls outperform boys in educational achievement, yet women in work are less well paid, are underrepresented in positions of power and carry a disproportionate burden of care and childcare. Gender, Education and Work analyses and interprets the latest data and research in the field to offer detailed historical and sociological explanations for this continuing inequity, exploring different dimensions of inequality and how they intersect.

America Through Transgender Eyes

America through Transgender Eyes provides an opportunity for readers to look at American society through the eyes of transgender people at a time when movements for and against transgender people permeate socio-political discussions throughout the nation. This book provides readers with important insights into the beauty and struggle of transgender people, identities, experiences, and relationships. As political, religious, and scientific traditions update their arguments in relation to growing recognition of transgender lives and histories, America through Transgender Eyes offers an opportunity to visualize the way such traditions appear to some of the people often left out of them. As political battles about the rights of transgender Americans grow throughout the nation, this book provides an important introduction to this population for voters, leaders, activists, and scholars seeking to make sense of the shifting gender dynamics of contemporary America.

Women's Human Rights

Women's Human Rights: Seeking Gender Justice in a Globalising Age explores the emergence of transnational, UN-oriented, feminist advocacy for women's human rights, especially over the past three decades. It identifies the main feminist influences that have shaped the movement liberal, radical, third world and cosmopolitan and exposes how the Western, legalist, state-centric, and liberal biases of mainstream human rights discourse impede the realisation of human rights in womens lives everywhere. The book traces the evolution of the women's human rights movement through an examination of its key issues, debates, and practical interventions in international law and policy arenas. 

Learning to Sell Sex(ism)

This book presents the first in-depth exploration into the gendered attitudes and worldviews of advertising students. Offering a significant contribution to other cultural sociological works concerning the cultural and creative industries, Learning to Sell Sex(ism) adds further weight to the argument that it is imperative that we look closely at the people who create media texts in order to better account for and challenge sexist media content.

Men in Nursing

For the first time, authors, educators and practicing nurses, Chad O'Lynn and Russell Tanbarger offer a unique insider's view to how men work, succeed, and survive in this fast growing segment of the healthcare industry. From the barriers and stereotypes men must overcome, to the basic daily work needs they have as nurses, this book covers the entire spectrum of career-based issues men face today and have faced in the past.

Articles

Websites

Videos

Film-The Longest War: Woman and Power Pt. 1

Woman in 19th century clothing being arrested by multiple police

Film-Transcending Gender: Portraits from the Community

Hand holding a Transgender Flag w/pink background

       Film-Science and Gender: Evelyn Fox Kelleri

Photo of woman with large earrings and dark hair

Databases for further research

Keywords

The SCF Libraries Catalog (Quick Search) and the Library Databases use specific terms or keywords to help organize items that are similar in subject. Those terms help users discover more sources related to a particular topic. Think of it as "hashtags" that we used since before hashtags existed!

However, keep in mind that this shared vocabulary is a product of society, based within a historically white profession and culture. Some terms are dated and might be offensive or inappropriate for current standards. There are librarians involved in social justice work who seek to disband antiquated and offensive terms, but that is a work in progress.

"Keyword/subject terms" evolve over time as society changes and research develops.

Remember, when you find a good article, ebook, evideo or website, keep track of the keywords used in that source and search using those terms too.  Different databases use different keywords so rotating and trying different terms is important. 

 

The following resources offer suggested terms to use for research:

Here are some examples of keywords/subject terms that you can use to search for sources:

  • Gender
    • "Gender identity"
  • Gender discrimination
  • "Sex discrimination"
    • "Sex discrimination against women"
    • "Sex discrimination against women - Law & legislation"
  • Transgenderism
  • Homosexuality
  • Lesbians
  • "Gay men"
  • "Sexual minorities"

 

Note: The quotation marks ("  ")  are used with more than one-word terms, to keep all the words together in the search.

College Resources

SCF Statement of Non Discrimination

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota does not discriminate on the basis of sex, pregnancy, race, religion, age, national origin/ethnicity, color, marital status, disability, genetic information or sexual orientation in any of its educational programs, services and activities, including admission and employment. Direct inquiries regarding nondiscrimination policies to: Equity Officer, 941-752-5323, 5840 26th St. W., Bradenton, FL 34207.

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota no discrimina en base a sexo, embarazo, raza, religión, edad, origen nacional/origen étnico, color, estado civil, discapacidad, información genética o la orientación sexual en cualquiera de sus programas educativos, servicios y actividades, incluyendo la admisión y empleo. Dirija las consultas sobre las normas de no discriminación a: Equity Officer, 941-752-5323, 5840 26th St. W., Bradenton, FL 34207.

 

SCF Student Services: Title IX

What is Title IX?
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits discrimination based on sex in any educational program or activity that receives financial support from the Federal government. Under Title IX, discrimination based on sex includes sexual harassment, sexual violence and sexual assault. Title IX also prohibits retaliation against individuals who complain about or participate in an investigation regarding an alleged Title IX violation.

Get more information or report in this Safe Harbor page.

Title IX Coordinator: Jaqueline McNeil
Bradenton Campus Bldg. 1 Rm. 105

941-752-5267

SCF Title IX Deputy Coordinator (Students)
Bradenton Campus Bldg. 1 Rm. 207

941-752-5603

SCF Title IX Deputy Coordinator (Faculty & Staff)
Bradenton Campus Bldg. 7 Rm. 121

941-752-5506

SCF Collegiate School Title IX Deputy Coordinator
Venice Campus Bldg. 800 Rm. 820

941-408-1430

 

SCF Staff:

  • Employees Contact: Gloria M. Tracy at (941) 752-5506 or tracyg@scf.edu
    Human Resources, SCF Bradenton campus, Building 7, rm 121 

Related Student Clubs:

Xenos

Advisor: Frances Auld

E-mail: AuldF@SCF.edu

Xenos is devoted to establishing a safe place of inclusivity at SCF Venice and a diverse and welcoming environment that will contribute to a positive and productive atmosphere on campus. Xenos advocates for groups including, but not limited to, the LGTBQ+ community and those who are identified through gender, ethnicity, race, or religion. As a group, we emphasize the need to embrace the value of all people and support our fellow students.