The following print books are in the Library Catalog. Click on the title for location and availability.
The Art of Ancient Egypt by
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
From the awesome grandeur of the Great Pyramids to the delicacy of a face etched on an amulet, the spellbinding power of ancient Egyptian art persists to this day. Spanning three thousand years, this beautifully illustrated history offers a thorough and delightfully readable introduction to the artwork even as it provides insight into questions that have long engaged experts and amateurs alike. In its scope, its detail, and its eloquent reproduction of over 250 objects, Gay Robins’s classic book is without parallel as a guide to the art of ancient Egypt. And her eagerly awaited new edition includes many new color photographs and a fully revised and updated bibliography.
The Looting of the Iraq Museum, Baghdad by
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
In April of 2003, the world reacted in shock at the news of the looting of the Iraq Museum in Baghdad. Priceless antiquities, spanning ten thousand years of human history, were smashed into pieces or stolen, and one of the most important storehouses of ancient culture was forever compromised. This exquisitely illustrated volume is a reconstruction in book form of one of the world's great museums, and it stands as the definitive single-volume history of the art and archaeology of ancient Mesopotamia-the cradle of civilization. The contributors to this book consist of a cadre of international archaeologists whose excavations helped piece together the rich tapestry of Mesopotamian life from earliest prehistory to the advent of Islam. A portion of the book's royalties will aid in the reconstruction of the museum and in the preservation of Mesopotamia's cultural treasures. Told through the art and artifacts that were lost recently in Iraq, this fascinating history of the civilizations of the Near East is sure to be a timeless and enduring book.
A History of the Classical Greek World, 478 - 323 BC by
Publication Date: 2005-10-03
This book gives an accessible account of classical Greek history, from the aftermath of the Persian Wars in 478 bc to the death of Alexander the Great in 323 bc. Covers political and military events, including: the flourishing of democracy in Athens; the Peloponnesian war, which involved the whole Greek world; and the conquests of Alexander the Great. Deals with social, economic and cultural developments as well as political and military events. Combines analysis with narrative. Details the evidence on which the account is based and the considerations which have to be born in mind in using this evidence. Written by P. J. Rhodes, who has been teaching and writing on Greek history for over 40 years. The book's clarity and directness make it ideal for course use.
Alexander the Great at War by
Publication Date: 2008-05-20
Alexander was arguably the greatest military commander ever. Upon the assassination of his father King Philip II of Macedon in the summer of 336 BC, he took over the reins of power of a now united Greece. Two years later he led his combined Macedonian and Greek army into Asia and began the greatest military conquest in world history. In eleven short years and an extraordinary sequence of marches, battles and sieges, he overcame the might of the Persian Empire and campaigned across deserts, plains and forests as far as the Indian subcontinent to become master of most of the known world, at least on the battlefield. This richly illustrated book examines all of Alexander's incredible campaigns, describing in detail his armies and the armies he defeated as he created his enormous empire, and explains the extraordinary generalship and tactics that won him his victories.
Nero Caesar Augustus by
Publication Date: 2008-09-05
This engaging new biography seeks to dispell some of the myths that have made the emperor Nero the infamous figure he represents today. Gives the most balanced introduction available to this endlessly fascinating figure. An unbiased account of Nero’s reign – from its optimistic beginnings to its infamous end. Examines the effect of the emperor’s personal life on his government, and how his fear of potential rivals drove a wedge between him and Rome’s senators.
The Roman Forum by
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
One of the most visited sites in Italy, the Roman Forum is also one of the best-known wonders of the Roman world. Though a highpoint on the tourist route around Rome, for many visitors the site can be a baffling disappointment. Several of the monuments turn out to be nineteenth- or twentieth-century reconstructions, while the rubble and the holes made by archaeologists have an unclear relationship to the standing remains, and, to all but the most skilled Romanists, the Forum is an unfortunate mess. David Watkin sheds completely new light on the Forum, examining the roles of the ancient remains while revealing what exactly the standing structures embody-including the rarely studied medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque churches, as well as the nearby monuments that have important histories of their own. Watkin asks the reader to look through the veneer of archaeology to rediscover the site as it was famous for centuries. This involves offering a remarkable and engaging new vision of a well-visited, if often misunderstood, wonder. It will be enjoyed by readers at home and serve as a guide in the Forum.
The Roman Army of the Punic Wars 264-146 BC by
Publication Date: 2007-05-22
Long before the Second Punic War (218 - 201 BC), Rome's influence extended no further than the Alps, and the wars that it fought consisted of small-scale raids and cattle rustling, with perhaps the occasional battle between armies. Nevertheless, within a century the seeds of an empire had been sown in Iberia, Africa, and the Greek east, and the Roman Republican army became the most successful of its day, establishing standards of discipline, organization, and efficiency that set a bench mark for the later armies of Rome. With the evolution of the Roman Republic came the adoption of the Manipular legion, a formation taken from the hoplite phalanx and first used in mass deployment against the North African nation of Carthage, during the Punic Wars. In this book Nic Fields examines the evolution of the Roman army from its defeat at Cannae through to their final success at Zama which saw a small city-based force evolve into a Mediterranean powerhouse, demonstrating how and why it became the most highly organized, sophisticated force in the ancient world.
A Most Holy War by
Publication Date: 2008-01-28
In January of 1208, a papal legate was murdered on the banks of the Rhone in southern France. A furious Pope Innocent III accused heretics of the crime and called upon all Christians to exterminate heresy between the Garonne and Rhone rivers--a vast region now known as Languedoc--in a great crusade. This most holy war, the first in which Christians were promised salvation for killing other Christians, lasted twenty bloody years--it was a long savage battle for the soul of Christendom. In A Most Holy War, historian Mark Pegg has produced a swift-moving, gripping narrative of this horrific crusade, drawing in part on thousands of testimonies collected by inquisitors in the years 1235 to 1245. These accounts of ordinary men and women, remembering what it was like to live through such brutal times, bring the story vividly to life.
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
The extraordinary character and career of Saladin are the keys to understanding the Battle of Hattin, the fall of Jerusalem and the failure of the Third Crusade. He united warring Muslim lands, reconquered the bulk of Crusader states and faced the Richard the Lion Heart, king of England, in one of the most famous confrontations in medieval warfare. Geoffrey Hindley's sympathetic and highly readable study of the life and times of this remarkable, many-sided man, who dominated the Middle East in his day, gives a fascinating insight into his achievements and into the Muslim world of his contemporaries.
Publication Date: 2010-09-09
The most comprehensive book on knights and knighthood available. The word "knight" conjures up images of gallant men in gleaming armor astride noble steeds, searching for foes to fight and fair maidens to rescue. In Knights the reality of knighthood is detailed, warts and all. This handsome reference tells the true story of these mounted warriors, who evolved from simple soldiers on horseback to defenders of the faith during the Crusades. Written by a team of historians with specialized knowledge of the medieval period, this beautifully illustrated reference includes: A timeline of knight history from its origins The ethos and ideals of knighthood Becoming a knight and the everyday life of a knight Knights in premedieval times The rise and fall of Charlemagne's empire Knights among the Normans and the Saxons The Crusades The decline of knighthood The role of literature and movies in the mythology of knights And much more. Hundreds of beautiful color photographs, artworks and maps add to this fascinating history of knights and knighthood.
Italian Renaissance by
Publication Date: 1986-02-01
Spanning an age that witnessed great achievements in the arts and sciences, this definitive overview of the Italian Renaissance will both captivate ordinary readers and challenge specialists. Dr. Plumb's impressive and provocative narrative is accompanied by contributions from leading historians, including Morris Bishop, J. Bronowski, Maria Bellonci, and many more, who have further illuminated the lives of some of the era's most unforgettable personalities, from Petrarch to Pope Pius II, Michelangelo to Isabella d'Este, Machiavelli to Leonardo.
The History of Christian Europe by
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Beginning with the initial transmission of Jesus' teaching throughout the Roman world, this expansive history follows the astounding development of Christianity within Europe. From the religion’s earliest days through the Reformation and Counter-Reformation, its development in the scientific age of the 17th and 18th centuries on, and its place in the modern world, Christianity’s role in transforming and shaping the cultural, social, political, and intellectual progress of the continent is traced. The accessible and informative narrative is complemented by boxed texts highlighting key events and concepts, such as monastic life, the development of icons, the impact of Darwin'sThe Origin of Species, the rise of prophecy, and the influence of psychology.
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
The Holocaust: Roots, History, and Aftermathtakes a fresh, probing look at one of the greatest human tragedies in modern history. Author David M. Crowe begins with a detailed overview of the history of the Jews, their two-millennia-old struggle with a larger Christian world, and the historical anti-Semitism that created the environment that helped pave the way for the Holocaust.
The Scientific Revolution by
Publication Date: 2001-10-23
An encyclopedic collection of key scientists and the tools and concepts they developed that transformed our understanding of the physical world. * Includes over 200 A-Z entries covering topics ranging from Gregorian reform of the calendar to Thomas Hobbes, navigation, thermometers, and the trial of Galileo * Provides a chronology of the scientific revolution from the founding of the Casa de la Contratacion, a repository of navigational and cartographic knowledge, in 1503, to the death of Antoni van Leeuwenhoek in 1727
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
"Using a variety of methods to gather and classify their burgeoning knowledge of the world, these pioneering studies of nature and man became the foundations for our modern understanding of the world and gave birth to countless new disciples - from palaeontology, archaeology and ethnography to the history of art. This book charts man's voyage of intellectual discovery by permitting the collectors and their collections to speak for their century, just as the books on the shelves of the original King's Library once did."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Early Modern Europe by
Publication Date: 2001-04-19
'Early Modern' is a term applied to the period which falls between the end of the middle ages and the beginning of the nineteenth century. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Europe in this period, exploring the changes and transitions involved in the move towards modernity.Nine newly commissioned chapters under the careful editorship of Euan Cameron cover social, political, economic, and cultural perspectives, all contributing to a full and vibrant picture of Europe during this time.The chapters are organized thematically, and consider the evolving European economy and society, the impact of new ideas on religion, and the emergence of modern political attitudes and techniques. The text is complemented with many illustrations throughout to give a feel of the changes in lifebeyond the raw historical data.
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
In 1848, a violent storm of revolutions ripped through Europe. The torrent all but swept away the conservative order that had kept peace on the continent since Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo in 1815—but which in many countries had also suppressed dreams of national freedom. Political events so dramatic had not been seen in Europe since the French Revolution, and they would not be witnessed again until 1989, with the revolutions in Eastern and Central Europe. In1848, historian Mike Rapport examines the roots of the ferment and then, with breathtaking pace, chronicles the explosive spread of violence across Europe. A vivid narrative of a complex chain of interconnected revolutions,1848tells the exhilarating story of Europe’s violent “Spring of Nations” and traces its reverberations to the present day.
Publication Date: 2009-03-10
At just thirty years of age, Napoleon Bonaparte ruled the most powerful country in Europe. But the journey that led him there was neither inevitable nor smooth. This authoritative biography focuses on the evolution of Napoleon as a leader and debunks many of the myths that are often repeated about him—sensational myths often propagated by Napoleon himself. Here, Philip Dwyer sheds new light on Napoleon’s inner life—especially his darker side and his passions—to reveal a ruthless, manipulative, driven man whose character has been disguised by the public image he carefully fashioned to suit the purposes of his ambition.
Publication Date: 2009-05-12
When the Second World War broke out, Philipp Freiherr von Boeselager, age twenty-five, fought for his country enthusiastically as a cavalry officer. His rearing on the family estate in the Rhineland had instilled in him a strong Catholic faith, a reverence for the fatherland, and a love of horsemanship and the hunt. And so, like his brother Georg, he accepted a commission when the call came to restore the pride Germany had lost in the humiliating peace of Versailles. Soon, however, beyond the regimented and honor-bound world of the cavalry, von Boeselager would discover what shocking brutality the SS was perpetrating at the behest of the Third Reich’s highest authorities. When, in the summer of 1942, he heard that five Roma had been killed in cold blood, von Boeselager’s patriotism quickly turned to disgust. Under his commanding officer, Field Marshal von Kluge, Philipp and his brother joined a group of conspirators in a plot to kill Adolf Hitler and Heinrich Himmler.
A History of Modern Germany by
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
Covering the entire period of modern German history-from nineteenth century imperial Germany right through 2007-this well-established book engages readers with its narrative, problem-focused approach, presenting a balanced, general survey of the country's political division in 1945 and reunification in the present.Detailing foreign policy as well as political, economic, and social developments, it presents a central theme of the problem of asymmetrical modernization in the country's history as it fully explores the complicated path of Germany's troubled past and stable present. For readers seeking a complete and current history of Germany.
Hubris, 1889-1936 by
Publication Date: 1999-01-17
From his illegitimate birth in a small Austrian village to his fiery death in a bunker under the Reich chancellery in Berlin, Adolf Hitler left a murky trail, strewn with contradictory tales and overgrown with self-created myths. One truth prevails: the sheer scale of the evils that he unleashed on the world has made him a demonic figure without equal in this century. Ian Kershaw's Hitler brings us closer than ever before to the character of the bizarre misfit in his thirty-year ascent from a Viennese shelter for the indigent to uncontested rule over the German nation that had tried and rejected democracy in the crippling aftermath of World War I. With extraordinary vividness, Kershaw recreates the settings that made Hitler's rise possible: the virulent anti-Semitism of prewar Vienna, the crucible of a war with immense casualties, the toxic nationalism that gripped Bavaria in the 1920s, the undermining of the Weimar Republic by extremists of the Right and the Left, the hysteria that accompanied Hitler's seizure of power in 1933 and then mounted in brutal attacks by his storm troopers on Jews and others condemned as enemies of the Aryan race.
The Habsburg Monarchy, C. 1765-1918 by
Publication Date: 2000-12-15
The multi-national Habsburg empire has never lost its fascination since its fall in 1918. Robin Okey's book shows how the Habsburg peoples experienced the same social, economi, and political processes as most other Europeans, in ways that cast interesting light on these processes from both the European and the Habsburg angle. Opposing views that the national problem was therefore subordinate to underlying socio-economic backwardness, Okey argues for the inextricable entanglement of the two themes, as nationalism emerged from a process of social mobilization which threatened the position of dominant Austro-Germans and Magyars. Robin Okey brings a distinctive approach to an intriguing subject, in a comprehensive study based on wide reading in most of the Monarchy's languages.
The French Century by
Publication Date: 2007-10-16
Sixteen chapters cover the history of France from the end of the 19th century to the present day, encapsulating everything from political events and scientific discoveries to cultural achievements and sporting triumphs. The five presidents of France’s fifth republic–Charles de Gaulle, Georges Pompidou, Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, François Mitterand, and Jacques Chirac–have led the country through tremendous change in all sectors, and their respective reigns are covered in detail. The Dreyfus Affair, the May 1968 student protests, the onset of a socialist government in 1981, and two world wars are but a few French landmarks that have changed the face of Europe and the world.
A History of Modern Russia by
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Russia had an extraordinary twentieth century, undergoing upheaval and transformation. Updating his acclaimed History of Modern Russia, Robert Service provides a panoramic perspective on a country whose Soviet past encompassed revolution, civil war, mass terror, and two world wars. He shows how seven decades of communist rule, which penetrated every aspect of Soviet life, continue to influence Russia today. This new edition takes the story from 2002 through the entire presidency of Vladimir Putin to the election of his successor, Dmitri Medvedev.
The Cold War by
Publication Date: 2004-01-16
Although no war was officially declared, for over four decades, the Soviet Union and the United States waged an ideological battle that at times carried the threat of nuclear war. In this anthology those who shaped the Cold War and those reflecting on its impact debate the strategies these nations used to expand or protect their spheres of influence as the United States and the Soviet Union moved from confrontation to cooperation.
Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Former Soviet Union by
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
"The Russian Orthodox Church is currently celebrating its millennium, one that coincides approximately with the documented history of Russia itself. That 1000-year history - both political and cultural - is the principal subject of this volume. After due acknowledgment of the Hellenistic, Slav, Viking and Byzantine backgrounds, the historical account opens with the conversion of Rus to Christianity in the 10th century and with the early centers of civilization at Kiev, Novgorod and Vladimir. Two centuries of Tatar rule divide the fall of Kievan Russia from the rise of Muscovy, but the medieval period of Russian history does not fully end until after the accession of Peter the Great in 1682.
Lenin and the Russian Revolution by
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Interlink's new illustrated history series seeks to explore the persistent themes of our recent past in order to prepare for the new century. Each volume offers a concise yet comprehensive analysis of a particular political, cultural or social phenomenon and is lavishly illustrated with color and b&w photographs and maps. In February 1917, the centuries-old and immense empire of the Czars, ally of the United States and Britain during World War I, suddenly collapses. Eight months later, the revolutionaries, under Lenin's leadership, take power and sign an armistice with Germany. Few would have bet on this government of inexperienced militants, against a force of armed counter-revolutionaries sustained by the West. But the mobilization of the population, the power of the Red Army and political police, the experience the communists gain during the war, and Lenin's skill in directing the new political economy, allow the Bolsheviks to strengthen their hold on the great empire.
Publication Date: 2004-04-13
Fifty years after his death, Stalin remains a figure of powerful and dark fascination. The almost unfathomable scale of his crimes-as many as 20 million Soviets died in his purges and infamous Gulag-has given him the lasting distinction as a personification of evil in the twentieth century. But though the facts of Stalin's reign are well known, this remarkable biography reveals a Stalin we have never seen before as it illuminates the vast foundation-human, psychological and physical-that supported and encouraged him, the men and women who did his bidding, lived in fear of him and, more often than not, were betrayed by him. In a seamless meshing of exhaustive research, brilliant synthesis and narrative élan, Simon Sebag Montefiore chronicles the life and lives of Stalin's court from the time of his acclamation as "leader" in 1929, five years after Lenin's death, until his own death in 1953 at the age of seventy-three.
Publication Date: 1999-10-20
Here is the whole sweep of the Soviet experiment and experience as told by its last steward. Drawing on his own experience, rich archival material, and a keen sense of history and politics, Mikhail Gorbachev speaks his mind on a range of subjects concerning Russia's past, present, and future place in the world.
Prelude to Revolution by
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
'If Marx had been living in Paris during May 1968, he might have written this book.' (The New Republic). Prelude to Revolution is the indispensable study of May 1968 in France. Generations have looked to this book for inspiration. Daniel Singer, who died in 2000, was widely considered the most adept interpreter of European politics for American audiences in his longtime role as the European correspondent for The Nation. He shows here how change happens, and draws out the lessons from the events of May 1968 for those struggling for a different world today.
The Berlin Wall by
Publication Date: 2007-05-29
On the morning of August 13, 1961, the residents of East Berlin found themselves cut off from family, friends and jobs in the West by a tangle of barbed wire that ruthlessly cut a city of four million in two. Within days the barbed-wire entanglement would undergo an extraordinary metamorphosis: it became an imposing 103-mile-long wall guarded by three hundred watchtowers. A physical manifestation of the struggle between Soviet Communism and American capitalism-totalitarianism and freedom-that would stand for nearly thirty years, the Berlin Wall was the high-risk fault line between East and West on which rested the fate of all humanity. Many brave people risked their lives to overcome this lethal barrier, and some paid the ultimate price. In this captivating work, sure to be the definitive history on the subject, Frederick Taylor weaves together official history, archival materials and personal accounts to tell the complete story of the Wall's rise and fall, from the postwar political tensions that created a divided Berlin to the internal and external pressures that led to the Wall's demise.
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
With1968, Mark Kurlansky brings to teeming life the cultural and political history of that world-changing year of social upheaval. People think of it as the year of sex, drugs, and rock and roll. Yet it was also the year of the Martin Luther King Jr. and Bobby Kennedy assassinations; the riots at the Democratic National Convention in Chicago; Prague Spring; the antiwar movement and the Tet Offensive; Black Power; the generation gap, avant-garde theater, the birth of the womens' movement, and the beginning of the end for the Soviet Union.