Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Environmental Issues Research Guide

FOR: Key databases, library tips and ideas for successful research on issues in Environmental Science for ENC 1101& SPC 1608.

Core Resources

Core Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
WHAT: Research the topic of environment as it occurs in many scholarly journals from cross cultural, popular culture, business, marketing, new product development, ethics, religion, biology, medicine and more.   
WHY:  This is a great database to get a sense of the range of a topic and identify key topics on narrowing it down.  
TIPS: Use the drop down search box to select subject. Use ENVIRONMENT* with other keywords. Using * truncates the word so that the search will look for environmental, too.

 

 

Need to pick a point of view or persuasive angle for your topic? 
Use Opposing Viewpoints.  This database also has images, scholarly journal and current news articles.

 

 

GREENR

Global reference on environment, energy and natural resources. Search academic journals, case studies and videos.

   
   

 

GreenFILE is the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

 

Science In Context (Gale) contains a wealth of information on the enviornment including impact, issues, groups, law, factors, policy, conditions and concerns.  Also contains multimedia content.

 

JSTOR   an excellent resource to access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.  Many back titles available on environmental history, environmental values, ecosystems, ecology and more.

Oxford Reference Online Premium is a powerful database that is cross-searchable of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.  In addition to a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations, also includes detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.  Narrow to Earth and Environmental Sciences.

 

Prefer working at a Higher Academic Level?

SpringerLink is a powerful database for finding scholarly ejournals and ebooks on a variety of disciplines.  Find relevant articles on the environment from biomedical/life sciences, earth/environmental sciences, humanities, social science and law, medicine and business/economics.