Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

AS: Digital Cinema

Recommended Websites

 

Internet Movie Database (IMDB) [http://www.imdb.com/]: Find your movie, then click on Explore More, scroll down and click on External Reviews to find reviews from ReelViews ( James Berardinelli) and the New York Times.

Internet Archive: Digital Library of Free Books, Movies & Music [http://archive.org/index.php]: Click on Video and search the Sub-Collections for Animation & Cartoons, Cultural & Academic Films, Ephemeral films and Movies.

Box Office Mojo [http://www.boxofficemojo.com/] Keep track to movie news, release dates and Box Office ratings.

AMC FilmSite [http://www.filmsite.org/]: From Tim Dirks and AMC a good resources for motion picture information.

RunPee.com [http://runpee.com/]: OK, this is just fun, but find out when is the best time to leave a movie and not miss anything important!

Film Periodicals from Library Databases

There are a number of film and cinematic publications scattered amongst several Library databases.  Search the database named and limit to your desired title to narrow your search.

Publication Date Range SCF Library Database
American Cinematographer 2005 to Current Associates Program
Boxoffice 2006 to Current Associates Program
Cineaste 1990 to Current Academic Search Complete
Cinema Journal 1996 to Current** Academic Search Complete
Cinema Scope 2006 to Current Associates Program
Cinema Technology    1987 to Current Associates Program
Film Comment 2002 to Current Academic Search Complete
Film History 2000 to Current Acadmic OneFile
Film & History 2003 to Current Acadmic OneFile
Films in Review 1990 to 1996 Academic Search Complete
Film International 2006 to Current Art Full Text
Film Quarterly 1958-1912** JSTOR
Journal of Film and Video 2000 to Current Associates Program
Journal of Popular Film and Television 1990 to Current ** Academic Search Complete
Journal of Religion and Film 2009 to Current Academic OneFile
Sight and Sound 2005 to Current Associates Program
Studies in Documentary Film 2007  to Current Art Full Text
Studies in French Cinema 2001 to Current Academic Search Complete

** These periodicals have a 12 or 18 MONTH delay in receiving the full text coverage.

If you are interested in the business side of film-making then search in the SCF Library databases, Business Source Complete and Business Insights Global for variety of Industry publications.

Library Access Services, Supervisor

Library Reference Sources

The Reference collection contains a number of print sources not available in eBook format.  The Television & Motion Picture sources fall within the Call Number Range of PN 1992 thru 1999.  These sources do not get checked out but may be photocopied or scanned.