It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art in Renaissance Italy by Evelyn WelchBetween the `Black Death' in the mid-fourteenth century and the French invasions at the end of the fifteenth, artists such as Masaccio, Donatello, Fra Angelico, and Leonardo, working in the kingdoms, princedoms, and republics of the Italian peninsula, created some of the most influential andexciting works in a variety of artistic fields. Yet the traditional story of the Renaissance has been dramatically revised in the light of new scholarship, and new issues have greatly enriched our understanding of the period. Emphasis has been placed on recreating the experience of contemporary Italians - the patrons who commissioned the works,the members of the public who viewed them, and the artists who produced them. In this book Evelyn Welch presents a fresh picture of the Italian Renaissance. Giving equal weight to the Italian regions outside Florence, she discusses a wide range of works, from paintings to coins, and from sculptures to tapestries, examines the issues of materials, workshop practises, andartist-patron relationships, and explores the ways in which visual imagery related to contemporary sexual, social and political behaviour.
The World of Ancient Art by John BoardmanAn innovative exploration of the arts of antiquity, from the earliest European cave paintings to the coming of Christianity and Buddhism in the Old World and the arrival of the Spaniards in the New World. Dividing the ancient world into three broad climatic categories--the northern nomadic, the temperate farmers and city dwellers, and the tropical--John Boardman focuses on common solutions that Man the Artist has devised for the problems posed by the environment, a factor that has also determined the nature of society and its arts. The solutions are shown to have been very similar worldwide within each broad environmental zone, and the pattern can be demonstrated in the arts no less than in social organization. Richly illustrated and clearly captioned, the book covers the full range of ancient art produced across the globe, from China and Egypt through Classical Greece to South America, Africa, Australasia, and Oceania. It illuminates the many similarities and differences to be observed over the millennia in which artists were required to serve man and his gods more completely than they have ever done since. 690 illustrations, 160 in color.
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
The Art and Architecture of Ancient Greece by Nigel RodgersThe legacies of ancient Greece have had a profound influence on the development of our modern world. This fascinating new book explores the importance of art and architecture in the world's first classical civilization, charting the ancient cities from their first foundations to the creation of their towering temples. The first half of the book analyses the rise of Greek architecture from its Minoan roots to the creation of Greece's most perfect temple, the Parthenon. Beautiful photographs and illustrations throw light on the intricacies of the ancient Greek building styles and techniques, revealing the practical methods involved in crafting iconic buildings like the Acropolis. Discover the histories of the ancient Greek cities, from the ethereal beauty of Athens and the commercial centre of Corinth to the sacred sanctuary of Delphi. Every aspect of Grecian art is revealed, from the dawn of classicism in 480BC to the delights of the Hellenistic Golden age in 30BC. The second part of the book covers the skill of ancient Greek sculptors and artists, from Polyclitus to Lysippus, and looks in detail at the techniques of the vase painters and mosaic makers, the art of the Bronze Age and the work of the 4th-century masters. An expert, insightful and accessible text is accompanied by over 250 photographs, fine-art illustrations, diagrams and maps, making this book an indispensable resource for both the specialist and general reader.
The Treasures of Islamic Art in the Museums of Cairo by Bernard O'Kane (Editor)Cairo's museums are home to some of the richest collection of Islamic art in the world. Long the seat of great dynasties, whose rulers and descendants both amassed and patronized works of art, Cairo's status as one of the wealthiest and most populous cities of the medieval world is reflectedin the exquisite arts and crafts that make up its collections, which expanded in the twentieth century through the purchase of private collections so that they now include not just the arts of the dynasties that made Cairo their capital, such as the Fatimids, Ayyubids, and Mamluks, but material fromother important areas of the Islamic world, such as Iran and Turkey, as well. Masterpieces of every medium are represented, including the decorative arts of ceramics, metalwork, textile, woodwork, glass, carved stone and ivory, and the art of the book. The objects vary from pieces made for purely secular purposes, many of them with blazons showing that they were the propertyof the great amirs of the time, to some of the choicest examples recovered from the architectural masterpieces that permeate Cairo's landscape. An introductory chapter guides the reader into the world of Islam and its art, while subsequent chapters unfold and describe the riches of the works of artthat were crafted and amassed throughout the ages. The book is lavishly illustrated throughout with specially commissioned color photographs. Contributors to this volume include Mohamed Abbas, Noha Abou-Khatwa, Farouk Askar, Mohamed Hamza, and Bernard O'Kane.
Romanesque and Gothic by Gloria FossiA wealth of stunning, high-quality images; fascinating analysis from an expert and eloquent author; and a surprisingly accessible price distinguish this breathtaking and superbly designed volume. It offers an in-depth, visually exciting exploration of Romanesque and Gothic style, the two great art movements that flourished during Europe’s Middle Ages. Exquisite, vibrant photos bring this extraordinary, still-mysterious world to life. The masterpieces on display range from little country churches to grandiose cathedrals and abbeys; mosaics to brilliantly colored religious frescoes; and carvings in cloisters and on portals to precious objects of wood, silver, gold, and ivory. It makes a beautiful gift for friends, family, or oneself.
This text explores the styles, institutions, cities and genres that shaped the Baroque and Rococo periods' great artistic outpourings. It aims to capture the cultural currents of the time from Counter Reformation to Lois XIV's Versailles to bourgeois Amsterdam.
Arguing that the profession of art therapy has its roots in the studio environment, Catherine Moon proposes that it is now time to reclaim these roots, and make art once again central to art therapy.
Ebooks about Art
Healing Arts by Susan HoganIn this book, Susan Hogan traces art therapy's origins back to the latter part of the eighteenth century, when working with images was used as a "moral treatment". As well as providing an authoritative history of art therapy, she covers such diverse topics as the philosophy of art therapy, the way attitudes to insanity have changed, Surrealism, and Britain's first therapeutic community.
Revealing Art by Matthew KieranWhy does art matter to us, and what makes it good? Why is the role of imagination so important in art? Illustrated with carefully chosen colour and black-and-white plates of examples from Michaelangelo to Matisse and Poussin to Pollock, Revealing Art takes us on a compelling and provocative journey. Kieran explores some of the most important questions we can ask ourselves about art: how can art inspire us or disgust us? Is artistic judgement simply a matter of taste? Can art be immoral or obscene, and should it be censored? He brings such abstract issues to life with fascinating discussions of individual paintings, photographs and sculptures, such as Michelangelo's Pieta, Andres Serrano's Piss Christ and Francis Bacon's powerful paintings of the Pope. He also suggests some answers to problems that any one in an art gallery or museum is likely to ask themselves: what is a beautiful work of art? and can art really reveal something true about our own nature? Revealing Art is ideal for anyone interested in debates about art today, or who has simply stood in front of a painting and felt baffled.
Thinking Art by Antoon van den BraembusscheIn the twentieth century, avant-garde movements have pushed the concept of art far beyond its traditional boundaries. In this dynamical process of constant renewal the prestige of thinking about art as a legitimizing practice has come to the fore. So it is hardly surprising that the past decades have been characterized by a revival or even breakthrough of philosophy of art as a discipline. However, the majority of books on aesthetics fail to combine a systematical philosophical discourse with a real exploration of art practice. Thinking Art attempts to deal with this traditional shortcoming. It is indeed not only an easily accessible and systematic account of the classical, modern and postmodern theories of art, but also concludes each chapter with an artist's studio in which the practical relevance of the discussed theory is amply demonstrated by concrete examples. Moreover, each chapter ends with a section on further reading, in which all relevant literature is discussed in detail. Thinking Art provides its readers with a theoretical framework that can be used to think about art from a variety of perspectives. More particularly it shows how a fruitful cross-fertilization between theory and practice can be created. This book can be used as a handbook within departments of philosophy, history of art, media and cultural studies, cultural history and, of course, within art academies. Though the book explores theories of art from Plato to Derrida it does not presuppose any acquaintance with philosophy from its readers. It can thus be read also by artists, art critics, museum directors and anyone interested in the meaning of art.
Art Nouveau by Victoria Charles; Jean LahorEver since its triumph at the Paris Universal Exposition, Art Nouveau has continued to inspire artists. The movement offered an artistic response to the industrial revolution and the creative vacuum left in its wake, exerting a huge impact on the decorative arts. Art Nouveau spans all forms of expression - including design, painting and architecture - and covers artists such as Gustav Klimt, Koloman Moser, Antoni Gaudí, Jan Toorop, and William Morris.
Naive Art by Nathalia BrodskayaUntil the end of the 19th century Naïve Art, created by untrained artists and characterised by spontaneity and simplicity, enjoyed little recognition from professional artists and art critics. Naïve painting is often distinguished by its clarity of line, vivacity and joyful colours, as well as by its rather clean-cut, simple shapes, as represented by French artists such as Henri Rousseau, Séraphine de Senlis, André Bauchant and Camille Bombois. However, this movement has also found adherents elsewhere, including Joan Miró (who was influenced by some of its qualities), Guido Vedovato, Niko Pirosmani, and Ivan Generalic.
Patronizing the Arts by Marjorie GarberWhat is the role of the arts in American culture? Is art an essential element? If so, how should we support it? Today, as in the past, artists need the funding, approval, and friendship of patrons whether they are individuals, corporations, governments, or nonprofit foundations. But as Patronizing the Arts shows, these relationships can be problematic, leaving artists "patronized"--both supported with funds and personal interest, while being condescended to for vocations misperceived as play rather than serious work. In this provocative book, Marjorie Garber looks at the history of patronage, explains how patronage has elevated and damaged the arts in modern culture, and argues for the university as a serious patron of the arts. With clarity and wit, Garber supports rethinking prejudices that oppose art's role in higher education, rejects assumptions of inequality between the sciences and humanities, and points to similarities between the making of fine art and the making of good science. She examines issues of artistic and monetary value, and transactions between high and popular culture. She even asks how college sports could provide a new way of thinking about arts funding. Using vivid anecdotes and telling details, Garber calls passionately for an increased attention to the arts, not just through government and private support, but as a core aspect of higher education. Compulsively readable, Patronizing the Arts challenges all who value the survival of artistic creation both in the present and future. Some images inside the book are unavailable due to digital copyright restrictions.
Studio Art Therapy by Catherine Hyland MoonArguing that the profession of art therapy has its roots in the studio environment, Catherine Moon proposes that it is now time to reclaim these roots, and make art once again central to art therapy. She suggests that there has been a tendency for art therapy not merely to interact with and be enriched by other perspectives - psychological, social, anthropological and transpersonal - but to be subsumed by them. For this reason she makes a clear distinction between using art in one's practice of therapy, and working from an art-based model. This book presents a model of art therapy where the products and processes of art constitute the core of the model, rather than serving as the impetus for adaptations of other theories of counselling or therapy. It addresses how an arts-based approach can inform the therapist in all aspects of practice, from the conception of the work and the attempt to understand client needs to interacting with clients and communicating with others about the profession of art therapy. Integrated into the book are stories about the work of art therapists, art therapy students and those who seek help in art therapy, presenting the theory behind studio art therapy and bringing it to life. Moon believes that the arts have something unique to offer to the therapeutic process which distinguish the arts therapies from other therapeutic professions. This book is a comprehensive and engaging exploration of the possibilities inherent in the therapeutic use of the arts.