Skip to main content
 

ENC1101: Motz

Starting page for all ENC1101 courses

Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. Motz

I am Alicia, your ENC1101 librarian. If you have questions, send me an email, or ask for me at the

Bradenton Library & Learning Center, Bldg. 3

Prof. Motz Assignment

Your Assignment:

Write a 2000 word argumentative essay double spaced in Times New Roman 12 point font using APA format. Research your topic and use a minimum of 5 sources to support your argument with in-text citations. Choose a topic that interests you from issues that are debated on each side. Take a position on the issue and support it with argument and research. Give the arguments on the other side and explain why you believe your position is the better one. Frame your topic as a problem.
It must include a cover sheet, table of contents, abstract, annotated bibliography, and works cited [References] page.
 

This guide and the SCF Librarians can help you with the following steps to complete this assignment:

  1. Choose the topic (use CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints to get ideas)
  2. Find 5 sources (Databases + Quick Search)
  3. Annotated Bibliography (Cite sources in APA, add annotation to each)
  4. APA format and References (citations)
 

Step 1: Searching Databases

Starting your research:

1) Databases

Databases recommended for ENC1101 are listed in the box below.

Tips! 
  • Use "keywords", combine them and try synonyms.
  • Select FULL TEXT when available.
  • Email the document to yourself for safekeeping.
  • Paraphrase, quote, or summarize information and CITE it.
  • COPY + CORRECT the citations (go to the Guide or ask a librarian.)

General Topics Databases (for Steps 1 and 2)

Step 2: Searching books & ebooks

Type-in your topic in the box below to search the "Library Catalog".

This "all-in-one search" includes books, ebooks, videos, articles & more:

Steps 3 and 4: Citing

Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!

  • Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
  • If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
  • When in doubt... ask a librarian!

Citing Guides

Link to Citing Guides

 

Ask Us

Test what you've learned!