Skip to main content
 

Writing and Citing: APA 6th Edition: Database Articles

A guide to help users create citations using American Psychological Association Style, 6th edition.

Online Databases

According to the APA, the name of the database does not have to be included in the citation of an article from a database. They attribute it to the fact that databases may change over time (p. 192). 

APA also does not require for the retrieval date to be used, since there is very little chance that information contained in academic journal articles will change over time. 

Basic Format, One Author:

Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title,Volume(issue), page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available].

2 Authors:

Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available].

3-7 Authors:

Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Last Name, First Initial.Second Initial., & Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available]. 

More than 7 Authors:

Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx [if available] OR Retrieved from URL of journal

Online Databases

Some databases are great resources for reference and sourcebook information. Many times, these kinds of articles will not have  a specific author. In that case, use either the database publisher or the company responsible for the information as author. 

Some of these entries will also lack a date of publication. Instead of omitting the field altogether, APA requires that n.d. (for no date) to be entered in the parentheses. 

Basic Format, No Author:

Database publisher. (Year, if not known put n.d.). Title of specific document. Publisher. Retrieved date from URL database homepage.