Skip to main content
 

Writing and Citing: MLA 8th Edition: Database Articles

MLA 8th Edition

Online Databases

Note: It is important to cite databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Virtual Reference Library) and others, as containers. Therefore, the database title has to be italicized before the DOI or URL. Access date is not necessary. 

Single Author:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name
           of Journal, vol. #, Issue #, Date of Publication, 
           pp. First Page-Last Page. Name of Database
           DOI or URL (no https://).

Two Authors:

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name, Last.
          "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of  Journal, vol. x,
           no. #, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page
           Numbers. Name of Database, DOI or URL (no https://).

Three or More Authors:

Author's Last Name, First Name, et al. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." 
         Name of Journal, vol. x, no. x, Date of
         Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page Numbers. Name of
         Database, DOI or URL (no https://).

Online Databases

Some databases are great resources for reference and sourcebook information. Many times, these kinds of articles will not have  a specific author. In that case, use either the database publisher or the company responsible for the information as author. If that is the case, start the citation with the title of the work in place of the author's name. 

Basic Format, No Author:

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume
         Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page
          Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, DOI or
          URL (no https://).