Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

Resources for studying, reflecting, and taking action in issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion

"Responsibility and respect of others and their religious beliefs are also part of freedom."

Horst Koehler

Definitions

Islamophobia:

Islamophobia is fear and prejudice against the religion of Islam and Muslims, or followers of Islam. A phobia is an irrational fear. Some believe it is not irrational to fear Muslims, while others believe this fear has led to discrimination of Muslims, who are unfairly judged by their religion and race—especially by Western society. Islamophobia is not a new ideology; it has been around since the founding of Islam in the seventh century. Terrorist attacks in the twenty-first century have caused most discrimination and distrust against Muslims worldwide.

From: Salem Press Encyclopedia

 

Anti-semitism:

Prejudice toward Jewish people—whether considered as a religious or racial group—has occurred since ancient times, emerging in virtually every community Jews have lived in. Anti-Semitism includes everything from simple stereotypes to political or social marginalization to outright genocide, such as the infamous Holocaust perpetrated by Nazi Germany. 

From: Salem Press Encyclopedia

 

Books & eBooks About Religious Discrimination

American Islamophobia

"I remember the four words that repeatedly scrolled across my mind after the first plane crashed into the World Trade Center in New York City. 'Please don't be Muslims, please don't be Muslims.' The four words I whispered to myself on 9/11 reverberated through the mind of every Muslim American that day and every day after.... Our fear, and the collective breath or brace for the hateful backlash that ensued, symbolize the existential tightrope that defines Muslim American identity today." Using his unique lens as a critical race theorist and law professor, Khaled A. Beydoun captures the many ways in which law, policy, and official state rhetoric have fueled the frightening resurgence of Islamophobia in the United States.

Islamophobia: Making Muslims the Enemy

In the spirit of Edward Said's Orientalism, this book graphically shows how political cartoons-the print medium with the most immediate impact-dramatically reveal Americans demonizing and demeaning Muslims and Islam. It also reveals a fundamental misunderstanding of the Muslim world in general and issues a wake-up call to the American people.

Islamophobia and Anti-Muslim Sentiment

In the minds of many Americans, Islam is synonymous with the Middle East, Muslim men with violence, and Muslim women with oppression. A clash of civilizations appears to be increasingly manifest and the war on terror seems a struggle against Islam. These are all symptoms of Islamophobia. Meanwhile, the current surge in nativist bias reveals the racism of anti-Muslim sentiment. This book explores these anxieties through political cartoons and film--media with immediate and important impact.

We Too Sing America

In We Too Sing America, nationally renowned activist Deepa Iyer catalogs recent racial flashpoints, from the 2012 massacre at the Sikh gurdwara in Oak Creek, Wisconsin, to the violent opposition to the Islamic Center of Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and to the Park 51 Community Center in Lower Manhattan. Iyer asks whether hate crimes should be considered domestic terrorism and explores the role of the state in perpetuating racism through detentions, national registration programs, police profiling, and constant surveillance.

Muslims in Story

Islamophobia, a long standing, deeply entrenched global issue, disrupts civil society at many levels, from anti-Muslim policies to heightened tensions and hate crimes, including the increased bullying of Muslim children. One of the root causes of Islamophobia is ignorance, often fueled by stereotyped and negative portrayals of Muslims in media and popular culture. Muslims in Story is a timely and proactive approach to tackling this issue, by engendering friendships and empathy through quality children's and young adult literature.

Antisemitism

Antisemitism: A History offers a readable overview of a daunting topic, describing and analyzing the hatred that Jews have faced from ancient times to the present. The essays contained in this volume provide an ideal introduction to the history and nature of antisemitism, stressing readability, balance, and thematic coherence, while trying to gain some distance from the polemics and apologetics that so often cloud the subject. Chapters have been written by leading scholars in the field and take into account the most important new developments in their areas of expertise. 

Anti-Semitism in America

In Antisemitism in America, Dinnerstein provides a landmark work--the first comprehensive history of prejudice against Jews in the United States, ranging from its foundations in European culture to the present day.

Deciphering the New Antisemitism

Deciphering the New Antisemitism addresses the increasing prevalence of antisemitism on a global scale. Antisemitism takes on various forms in all parts of the world, and the essays in this wide-ranging volume deal with many of them: European antisemitism, antisemitism and Islamophobia, antisemitism and anti-Zionism, and efforts to demonize and delegitimize Israel.

Religious Intolerance in America

American narratives often celebrate the nation's rich heritage of religious freedom. There is, however, a less told and often ignored part of the story: the ways that intolerance and cultures of hate have manifested themselves within American religious history and culture. In the first ever documentary survey of religious intolerance from the colonial era to the present, volume editors John Corrigan and Lynn S. Neal define religious intolerance and explore its history and manifestations, including hate speech, discrimination, incarceration, expulsion, and violence.

Islamophobia/Islamophilia

"Islamophobia" is a term that has been widely applied to anti-Muslim ideas and actions, especially since 9/11. The contributors to this provocative volume explore and critique the usefulness of the concept for understanding contexts ranging from the Middle Ages to the modern day.

Videos & eVideos

Articles & Websites

Databases for further research

Keywords

The SCF Libraries Catalog (Quick Search) and the Library Databases use specific terms or keywords to help organize items that are similar in subject. Those terms help users discover more sources related to a particular topic. Think of it as "hashtags" that we used since before hashtags existed!

However, keep in mind that this shared vocabulary is a product of society, based within a historically white profession and culture. Some terms are dated and might be offensive or inappropriate for current standards. There are librarians involved in social justice work who seek to disband antiquated and offensive terms, but that is a work in progress.

"Keyword/subject terms" evolve over time as society changes and research develops.

Remember, when you find a good article, ebook, evideo or website, keep track of the keywords used in that source and search using those terms too.  Different databases use different keywords so rotating and trying different terms is important. 

 

Here are some examples of keywords/subject terms that you can use to search for information in databases or catalog:

  • RELIGION
  • RELIGION - history
  • RELIGION - United States
  • "Religious tolerance"
  • "Race discrimination - Religious aspects"
  • "Religious minorities"
  • "Hate crimes"
  • Islam
    • "Islam and culture"
  • Muslims
    • "Muslims - public opinion"
  • Antisemitism
  • Jews
    • "Jews - public opinion"
  • Zionism
  • "Arabs - attitudes"

 

 

 

College Resources

SCF Statement of Non Discrimination

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota does not discriminate on the basis of sex, pregnancy, race, religion, age, national origin/ethnicity, color, marital status, disability, genetic information or sexual orientation in any of its educational programs, services and activities, including admission and employment. Direct inquiries regarding nondiscrimination policies to: Equity Officer, (941) 752-5323, 5840 26th St. W., Bradenton, FL 34207.

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota no discrimina en base a sexo, embarazo, raza, religión, edad, origen nacional/origen étnico, color, estado civil, discapacidad, información genética o la orientación sexual en cualquiera de sus programas educativos, servicios y actividades, incluyendo la admisión y empleo. Dirija las consultas sobre las normas de no discriminación a: Equity Officer, (941) 752-5323, 5840 26th St. W., Bradenton, FL 34207.

 

SCF Campus Ministry:

The SCF Campus Ministry program and facility are provided oversight by the SCF Student Life department on the Bradenton campus. Understanding the diversity of the College’s interfaith community students, staff, and guests must clearly and explicitly state the identity of the organization that they represent in any literature, display, or publicity regarding religious/spiritual programming. Additionally, the rights of any individual to decline or continue a conversation about his or her faith, spiritual, or religious beliefs will be strictly upheld.

Bradenton Contact: 941-752-5607
Venice Contact: 941-408-1523