Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The SCF Libraries are currently open online and on site for students & staff
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. Robinson
If you have questions, Alicia is your ENC1101 librarian: you can send Alicia an email, chat with a librarian, or visit any of the SCF Librarians at the
Bradenton Library & Learning Center, Bldg. 3
This guide is for the
Research Essay: Arts in Our Culture
Topic: Arts in Our Culture Research Essay instructions:
Step 1: Library Catalog or Quick Search
Use it to search for books, e-books, articles, and more in the Library Catalog or " Quick Search" window in the box below
TIPS for searching in "Quick Search":
Use the " Books in the Library" filter (on the left side menu) to only see the physical books available in the SCF Libraries.
Click on the " eBooks" tab on the top for electronic books only.
You can request books from Venice or Lakewood Ranch by clicking on " Place a Hold."
Use the " Map it!" button to see the location of the book on the shelves.
Remember your login: G00 and last four digits of G number for the PIN.
Type-in your topic in the box below to search the "Library Catalog" also called "Quick Search"
This "all-in-one search" includes books, ebooks, videos, articles & more:
Step 2: Databases
The Databases listed in the box below are some that are recommended for this assignment. There are more in the homepage Databases tab.
If your search is not going well, try some of these strategies:
Use synonyms or alternative words for your topic. For ex: "capital punishment" can also be "death penalty"
Think of the topic in a broader context (more general.)
Combine keywords, for ex: "legal cases" AND "sports"
Try different databases
Ask a Librarian!
TIPS for using databases:
Open the database by clicking in its title. Login = Your G00 number and last four digits of G00 number.
Search for articles FULL TEXT.
Send the articles to your EMAIL for safekeeping.
Be cautious with "Citing Tools": COPY-PASTE+CORRECT!
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
Access World News (NewsBank)
Full text news from major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO)
Essays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues.
Use to find IMAGES. An image library for the Arts from international museums, libraries and artists' collections. Images for African-American, American History, Women's, Asian Studies, Anthropology, Architecture, Design, and other images of art, maps, drawings and more are included.
Art Online (Oxford)
Covers the entries from Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, & The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Step 3: Citing
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
When in doubt... ask a librarian!