Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guitar Books
-
The Classical Guitar Book Offering essays by the world's top experts in a full-color, coffee-table quality book, this is the first work to tell the complete story of the classical guitar and its repertoire, players and makers - from its 19th century European roots to modern international interpretations.ISBN: 0879307250
-
A Concise History of the Classic Guitar This assessment of five centuries of fretted instruments covers the vihuela in Spain, the history of four-course and five-course guitars, the evolution of tablature, and developments in the six-string guitar in the 19th century. the work also charts the contribution of leading composers, performers and luthiers of the 20th century, and evaluates the influence of Segovia, Llobet, Pujol, Presti, Bream, Williams, etc., among the world's famous guitarists.ISBN: 078664978X
-
Guitar World Presents the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time Featuring electrifying profiles of everyone from hard rock gods (Wes Borland, Dimebag Darrell, Tony Iommi) to British giants (Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page, even Nigel Tufnel) to trailblazing bluesmen (John Lee Hooker, Reverend Gary Davis) to country gents (Clarence White, Albert Lee) to the founding fathers (Chuck Berry, Dick Dale) as well as jazzmen, progressive rockers, punks and rockabilly superstars.ISBN: 9780634046193
-
Guitar Zero On the eve of his 40th birthday, Gary Marcus, a renowned scientist with no discernible musical talent, learns to play the guitar and investigates how anyone--of any age --can become musical.ISBN: 9781594203176
-
Instruments of Desire Around 1930, a group of guitar designers in Southern California fitted instruments with an electromagnetic device called a pickup--and forever changed the face of popular music. Taken up by musicians as diverse as Les Paul, Muddy Waters, Jimi Hendrix, and the MC5, the electric guitar would become not just a conduit of electrifying new sounds but also a symbol of energy, innovation, and desire in the music of the day.ISBN: 9780674000650
-
The Complete Encyclopedia of the Guitar by Terry Burrows Bringing together articles, reviews, essays, photographs and other documents by, and about, the legendary singer, guitar player and writer Joni Mitchell, this text goes from the 1960s through to today.ISBN: 9780028650272
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Guitar Ebooks
-
The Guitar in America by Jeffrey J. Noonan The Guitar in America offers a history of the instrument from America's late Victorian period to the Jazz Age. The narrative traces America's BMG (banjo, mandolin, and guitar) community, a late nineteenth-century musical and commercial movement dedicated to introducing these instruments into America's elite musical establishments. Using surviving BMG magazines, the author details an almost unknown history of the guitar during the movement's heyday, tracing the guitar's transformation from a refined parlor instrument to a mainstay in jazz and popular music. In the process, he not only introduces musicians (including numerous women guitarists) who led the movement, but also examines new techniques and instruments. Chapters consider the BMG movement's impact on jazz and popular music, the use of the guitar to promote attitudes towards women and minorities, and the challenges foreign guitarists such as Miguel Llobet and Andres Segovia presented to America's musicians. This volume opens a new chapter on the guitar in America, considering its cultivated past and documenting how banjoists and mandolinists aligned their instruments to it in an effort to raise social and cultural standing. At the same time, the book considers the BMG community within America's larger musical scene, examining its efforts as manifestations of this country's uneasy coupling of musical art and commerce.ISBN: 9781934110188
Publication Date: 2007-12-13
-
Technology of the Guitar by Richard Mark French Featuring chapters on physics, structure, sound and design specifics, Technology of the Guitar also includes coverage of historical content, composition of strings and their effects on sound quality, and important designs. Additionally, author Mark French discusses case studies of historically significant and technologically innovative instruments. This is a complete reference useful for a broad range of readers including guitar manufacturer employees, working luthiers, and interested guitar enthusiasts who do not have a science or engineering background. ISBN: 9781461419204
Publication Date: 2012-05-14
-
The Use of Guitar in Music Therapy by Jonathon Oden A comprehensive examination of the guitar's prominent place within the field of music therapy. Music therapy students with little or no guitar-playing experience, as well as practicing professional therapists, may find it to be a practical and valuable resource. Part one of the book introduces the reader to historical and important functional information about the instrument, and describes how to play the guitar with proficiency and versatility. Parts two and three address clinical uses of guitar-playing by therapists and clients. In addition to reviewing guitar references within the music therapy literature, creative and innovative techniques are provided which will allow clinicians to take advantage of the instrument's wide range of adaptability. Examples are given that demonstrate ways in which therapists can use guitar to accompany songs and improvisations, as well as to make guitar-playing accessible to clients of varying physical and cognitive abilities. Clinical uses of traditional guitar playing, alternate tunings, and adaptive devices and accessories are discussed.ISBN: 9781937440411
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
-
Electronics for Guitarists by Denton J. Dailey In the second edition of Electronics for Guitarists author Denton Dailey teaches the basic theory of operation and design principles of analog guitar signal processing circuits and amplifiers. The design and operation of common effects circuits such as tone controls, preamps, phasers, flangers, envelope followers, distortion and overdrives are covered, as are both solid-state amplifiers and power supplies. Written primarily for the guitarist, this book balances coverage of theoretical analysis and design while providing many examples of practical experimental circuits. The main thrust of the material is analog circuitry, focusing on fundamental principles of transistors, integrated circuit and vacuum tube-based amplifier operation and theory, and operation of typical guitar signal processing effects circuits. Updated to the new edition include: * New coverage of tone control circuits, MOSFETS and their applications as small-signal amplifiers, rail splitters and charge pumps, amplifiers using germanium transistors, and tube power amp design * Expanded coverage of numerous subjects such as vacuum tube power supplies, the digital oscilloscope, Darlington and Sziklai transistors, and signal spectra and transfer function symmetry * Additional examples of various circuits such as overdrive, distortion, chorus, delay, tremolo and auto-wah circuits as well as amplifier design Electronics for Guitarists is ideal for the musician or engineer interested in analog signal processing. The material is also useful to general electronics hobbyists, technologists and engineers with an interest in guitar and music-related electronics applications.ISBN: 9781461440864
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
The Classical Guitar Book Offering essays by the world's top experts in a full-color, coffee-table quality book, this is the first work to tell the complete story of the classical guitar and its repertoire, players and makers - from its 19th century European roots to modern international interpretations.
A Concise History of the Classic Guitar This assessment of five centuries of fretted instruments covers the vihuela in Spain, the history of four-course and five-course guitars, the evolution of tablature, and developments in the six-string guitar in the 19th century. the work also charts the contribution of leading composers, performers and luthiers of the 20th century, and evaluates the influence of Segovia, Llobet, Pujol, Presti, Bream, Williams, etc., among the world's famous guitarists.
Guitar World Presents the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time Featuring electrifying profiles of everyone from hard rock gods (Wes Borland, Dimebag Darrell, Tony Iommi) to British giants (Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page, even Nigel Tufnel) to trailblazing bluesmen (John Lee Hooker, Reverend Gary Davis) to country gents (Clarence White, Albert Lee) to the founding fathers (Chuck Berry, Dick Dale) as well as jazzmen, progressive rockers, punks and rockabilly superstars.
Guitar Zero On the eve of his 40th birthday, Gary Marcus, a renowned scientist with no discernible musical talent, learns to play the guitar and investigates how anyone--of any age --can become musical.
Instruments of Desire Around 1930, a group of guitar designers in Southern California fitted instruments with an electromagnetic device called a pickup--and forever changed the face of popular music. Taken up by musicians as diverse as Les Paul, Muddy Waters, Jimi Hendrix, and the MC5, the electric guitar would become not just a conduit of electrifying new sounds but also a symbol of energy, innovation, and desire in the music of the day.
The Complete Encyclopedia of the Guitar by Bringing together articles, reviews, essays, photographs and other documents by, and about, the legendary singer, guitar player and writer Joni Mitchell, this text goes from the 1960s through to today.
The Guitar in America by The Guitar in America offers a history of the instrument from America's late Victorian period to the Jazz Age. The narrative traces America's BMG (banjo, mandolin, and guitar) community, a late nineteenth-century musical and commercial movement dedicated to introducing these instruments into America's elite musical establishments. Using surviving BMG magazines, the author details an almost unknown history of the guitar during the movement's heyday, tracing the guitar's transformation from a refined parlor instrument to a mainstay in jazz and popular music. In the process, he not only introduces musicians (including numerous women guitarists) who led the movement, but also examines new techniques and instruments. Chapters consider the BMG movement's impact on jazz and popular music, the use of the guitar to promote attitudes towards women and minorities, and the challenges foreign guitarists such as Miguel Llobet and Andres Segovia presented to America's musicians. This volume opens a new chapter on the guitar in America, considering its cultivated past and documenting how banjoists and mandolinists aligned their instruments to it in an effort to raise social and cultural standing. At the same time, the book considers the BMG community within America's larger musical scene, examining its efforts as manifestations of this country's uneasy coupling of musical art and commerce.
Technology of the Guitar by Featuring chapters on physics, structure, sound and design specifics, Technology of the Guitar also includes coverage of historical content, composition of strings and their effects on sound quality, and important designs. Additionally, author Mark French discusses case studies of historically significant and technologically innovative instruments. This is a complete reference useful for a broad range of readers including guitar manufacturer employees, working luthiers, and interested guitar enthusiasts who do not have a science or engineering background. 
The Use of Guitar in Music Therapy by A comprehensive examination of the guitar's prominent place within the field of music therapy. Music therapy students with little or no guitar-playing experience, as well as practicing professional therapists, may find it to be a practical and valuable resource. Part one of the book introduces the reader to historical and important functional information about the instrument, and describes how to play the guitar with proficiency and versatility. Parts two and three address clinical uses of guitar-playing by therapists and clients. In addition to reviewing guitar references within the music therapy literature, creative and innovative techniques are provided which will allow clinicians to take advantage of the instrument's wide range of adaptability. Examples are given that demonstrate ways in which therapists can use guitar to accompany songs and improvisations, as well as to make guitar-playing accessible to clients of varying physical and cognitive abilities. Clinical uses of traditional guitar playing, alternate tunings, and adaptive devices and accessories are discussed.
Electronics for Guitarists by In the second edition of Electronics for Guitarists author Denton Dailey teaches the basic theory of operation and design principles of analog guitar signal processing circuits and amplifiers. The design and operation of common effects circuits such as tone controls, preamps, phasers, flangers, envelope followers, distortion and overdrives are covered, as are both solid-state amplifiers and power supplies. Written primarily for the guitarist, this book balances coverage of theoretical analysis and design while providing many examples of practical experimental circuits. The main thrust of the material is analog circuitry, focusing on fundamental principles of transistors, integrated circuit and vacuum tube-based amplifier operation and theory, and operation of typical guitar signal processing effects circuits. Updated to the new edition include: * New coverage of tone control circuits, MOSFETS and their applications as small-signal amplifiers, rail splitters and charge pumps, amplifiers using germanium transistors, and tube power amp design * Expanded coverage of numerous subjects such as vacuum tube power supplies, the digital oscilloscope, Darlington and Sziklai transistors, and signal spectra and transfer function symmetry * Additional examples of various circuits such as overdrive, distortion, chorus, delay, tremolo and auto-wah circuits as well as amplifier design Electronics for Guitarists is ideal for the musician or engineer interested in analog signal processing. The material is also useful to general electronics hobbyists, technologists and engineers with an interest in guitar and music-related electronics applications.
