SCF Libraries: LIT 2310: Gothic and Horror Literature -Auld: Recommended Resources

Web Resources

Project Gutenberg: Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today. A good place to find Gothic and Horror Literature.

Internet Archive: The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search literary criticisms for the world's most written about works. Also includes some biographies and primary resources helpful for iiterature reseach. Research poetry, find poems, analyze short stories, find a short story, fiction, drama and theater works.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia.