Skip to main content
The SCF Libraries are OPEN ONLINE
and providing as many of our services as possible to ensure continuing support for our students and faculty.
The SCF Library buildings will reopen with full hours and services Monday, August 17th
. For more information, see our
Covid-19 Library Guide
Need help? Have suggestions?
Let us know!
Hours & Locations
Library Staff (All)
Reserve a Room
State College of Florida, Sarasota-Manatee
U.S. Civil War 1861-1865
Search this Guide
U.S. Civil War 1861-1865: Core Resources
Research guide to the United States Civil War (1861-1865).
Books & eBooks
Starting your Research
U.S. Civil War 1861 - 1865
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text and peer reviewed articles in a variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, & the arts.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
To open EBSCO databases, click on the "OpenAthens Login" link after you log in.
Biography In Context (Gale)
Thousands of full text biographies, both historical and contemporary.
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
Full text reference works, articles, historical documents, and biographies. More than 12,000 historical photos and maps.
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2010)
Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1851 - 2010
Sources in US History: The Civil War
Digital collection of primary documents, including narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.
The Civil War - Ken Burns' Documentary
Click on the icon to view
The Civil War
Digital History: Civil War
Contains online textbook, primary sources, images & more.
Internet History Sourcebook
Full text and primary sources for Civil War history from Fordham University.
Library of Congress
Maps, photographs, resource guides, & more.
Books & eBooks >>
Sep 28, 2020 8:24 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.