Teaching Resources Available through the SCF Library
The SCF Librarians are here to not only help students, but also to help you find what you need for your own professional development.
The below listings are just a fraction of the resources available.
Please reach out to your librarians to access or to help curate resources if you can't find what you are looking for in our current collections. InterLibrary Loan through UBorrow or World Cat may be options.
Articles
Online content
Recommended Databases for Education Topics
Search inside the following databases to retrieve peer-reviewed articles, eBooks, and more on topics related to education, early childhood, education and technology, etc.
Please contact a librarian if you need assistance when conducting research or citing these sources.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
"The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more." -- by publisher. Funded by SCF Group License.
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Features content on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation, and much more.---From Publisher. Funded by FLVC.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center. Comprehensive scholarly education database with full text back to 1966. Funded by FLVC.
- Educators Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty, such as: technology, bilingual education, health education, testing and others.
Also focuses on issues in: administration, funding, policy and more. Funded by FEL. - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator. Funded by FLVC.
- Google Scholar SCF Full Text This link opens in a new window
Look for Full Text @SCF on the right side. For Full-text click on SCF Full Text. The far right column also often has full text sources from educational institutions and open access scholarly journals. Open Access Resource.
Books & eBooks
Classroom Assessment Techniques by Call Number: Bradenton 2nd Floor/Circulation ; LB2822.75 .A54 1993ISBN: 9781555425005Publication Date: 1993-04-16More relevant than ever in this day and age of A.I.This revised and greatly expanded edition of the 1988 handbook offers teachers at all levels how-to advise on classroom assessment, including: What classroom assessment entails and how it works. How to plan, implement, and analyze assessment projects. Twelve case studies that detail the real-life classroom experiences of teachers carrying out successful classroom assessment projects. Fifty classroom assessment techniques. Step-by-step procedures for administering the techniques Practical advice on how to analyze your data.
The Handbook of Classroom Discourse and Interaction by Call Number: eBook - Log in for accessISBN: 1118531213Publication Date: 2015-05-04Offering an interdisciplinary approach, The Handbook of Classroom Discourse and Interaction presents a series of contributions written by educators and applied linguists that explores the latest research methodologies and theories related to classroom language. Organized to facilitate a critical understanding of how and why various research traditions differ and how they overlap theoretically and methodologically Discusses key issues in the future development of research in critical areas of education and applied linguistics Provides empirically-based analysis of classroom talk to illustrate theoretical claims and methodologies Includes multimodal transcripts, an emerging trend in education and applied linguistics, particularly in conversation analysis and sociocultural theory
The AI Classroom by Call Number: Bradenton 2nd Floor/Circulation ; LB2395.68 .F58 2023ISBN: 9781959419112Publication Date: 2023-05-01What is the role of educators with the rise of the artificial intelligence era? We are entering an unprecedented era of innovation, where humanity and technology will work together in harmony. This collaboration allows for technology to handle mundane tasks while educators are empowered to use their unique skill set toward more creative endeavors. Educators have an opportunity to leverage artificial intelligence in order to provide students with a future-focused education that's tailored specifically to their needs. By embracing this change, educators will be able to focus more of their time on building meaningful relationships and doing what they truly love - teaching!The AI Classroom will help you:Create content and do tasks using artificial intelligenceInfuse emotional intelligence with artificial intelligenceEnhance existing pedagogies Put students in control of their learning
Handbook of experiential learning and management education by Call Number: eBook - Log in for accessISBN: 9786611149703Publication Date: 2023
Educational Testing and Measurement by Call Number: Bradenton 2nd Floor/Circulation; LB 3051 .K8 2024ISBN: 9781119931775Publication Date: 2024-01-24Revised and updated practical resource that will enhance assessment literacy to help prepare current and prospective teachers to navigate today's changing world of educational testing and assessment. It describes the classroom impact of national and key state-level policy changes that drive the ongoing changes in the usage of both teacher-made and standardized tests and assessments.
