Starting Points for Research
Starting Points for Research
If you aren't sure where to start, try searching for a phrase using the "Quick Search" button on the library home page. You can also get ideas for what to study by reading a newspaper or magazine.
The library has compiled a guide with videos to help you choose and evaluate your resources. To check them out, head over to the Information Literacy Tutorials page.
Picking a Topic
When picking a topic its important to make sure its the "right size." Information on a topic that is too broad will be hard to fit into a short writing assignment, but a topic that is too narrow or specific might mean you struggle to find enough valid information.
Try to avoid being too subjective.
- For example: if you're trying to argue that a President was good or bad, then you should decide how you are going to define good or bad.
- If a President is good or bad because of how they handled the economy, how do you decide what is a good or bad economy?
- If a President is good or bad because of other things they did or did not do, then why does this matter? How could this situation have been improved or been worse?
How would you go about gathering evidence to support these claims?
Resources to help with topic selection
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues. Funded by FLVC.
- Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Contains thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources and offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias. Funded by SCF.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues. Funded by FLVC.
- Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Essays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues. Funded by SCF Group License.
- Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
RECOMMENDED for ENC1101 students or those students writing their first college research paper. Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper. Funded by SCF Group License.
- Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative reference information on hundreds of significant science topics. Funded by SCF Group License.
- Databases A-ZGenerally when you're starting your research, its easier to use a database that is focused on your subject area. You can sort the database list by "Subject" at the top to see your best bets!
Deeper Research
These databases contain scholarly articles from experts in their fields, the results of experiments, and other higher level information. These resources can be more challenging to use, but contain materials that will improve your understanding of a particular topic.
Try using multiple search strategies or use Advanced Search tools to find out more on your topic:
- Remember to narrow your search using filters (resource type, publication date, peer reviewed)
- Try using synonyms to help you locate better results
- Link multiple terms using AND
- Georgia O'Keeffe AND Texas
- Fake news AND misinformation
- Endangered Species AND Tigers
Don't get discouraged! The writers whose works you are reading followed a very similar process of trial and error and assembling a coherent narrative out of the pieces of evidence that they could find. Their reference pages represent untold hours of careful searching, reading, and analysis.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File. Funded by FEL.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator. Funded by FLVC.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
For more information on how to search using these databases, please check out the videos and links below.
- SCF Quick SearchYou can search almost everything we have access to from our homepage. There is also an Advanced Search option available from the results screen that can help to refine your search. When possible, you should still use a database devoted to your particular subject to create a more efficient search.
- Getting Started with Gale DatabasesThis tutorial covers the key interface features of Gale databases. Review functionality like performing searches, working with documents, and accessibility tools.
- Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates a Guided Style Advanced Search on the new EBSCO user interfaces
- JSTOR Video TutorialsOn this page you will find a selection of JSTOR's most helpful video tutorials.
Need help?
Still have questions?
Visit us in person at the
- Bradenton Campus Library & Learning Center (Building 3)
- Lakewood Ranch Campus Learning Commons
- Venice Campus Dr. Bill Jervey, Jr Library
or ask us a question online.