Florida Civic Literacy Exam (FCLE) Study Guide

This book explores the core historical events, trends, and personalities from U.S. history within the context of global history and international relations.

The colonial period witnessed the transformation of thirteen distinct colonies into an independent federated republic. This volume discusses the diversity of the colonial political experienceOCoa diversity that modern scholars have found defies easy synthesisOCoas well as the long-term conflicts, policies, and events that led to revolution, and the ideas underlying independence."

Provides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics effects, and is affected by, social change.

Soon after the start of the American Revolutionary War in 1775, the Thirteen Colonies proclaimed their independence from British rule and became the United States of America. The written word proved vital in shaping America's new identity, laying the groundwork for societal principles and political doctrine alike. From Thomas Jefferson and the members of the Second Continental Congress, to Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay, the authors of these documents had a profound and lasting effect on United States history. This collection includes unabridged versions of five famous and influential documents that helped to found a nation: the Declaration of Independence (1776), the Articles of Confederation (1777), the United States Constitution (1787), the Federalist Papers (1787-1788), and the Bill of Rights (1791).

Volume III of "Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court" covers ten cases on executive privilege, clear and present danger, forced sterilization, mob justice, the Pledge of Allegiance, illegal search and seizure, interracial marriage, monkey trials, sexual harassment, and separation of church and state.

Does the government have the right to seize your house in order to build a shopping mall? Can it determine what you can do to your own body? How far can it go in regulating your use of the Internet? The answers to those questions come from the Supreme Court--and its rulings have shaped American life, justice, and culture. Here are 37 of the most significant issues the Court has grappled with--from equal rights to privacy rights, from the limits of speech to the boundaries between church and state. Many of these cases read like thrillers...right down to their cliff-hanging endings.  

Revised edition. Contains short lessons based on each of the 100 civics questions. Ideal for both U.S. history/ civics students as well as legal residents preparing for the United States Naturalization citizenship test, this set contains information that will help you learn more about important concepts in American history and government. Book and CD, sold as a set. M-636 Revision 06/2013. Other related products: Code of Federal Regulations, Title 8, Aliens and Nationality, Revised as of January 1, 2016 can be found here: https: //bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/869-084-00024-7' Civics and Citizenship Toolkit can be found here: https: //bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/027-002-00575-9 The USCIS Naturalization Interview and Test (DVD) can be found here: https: //bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/027-002-00582-1"

USCIS Civics Flash Cards: These civics flash cards will help immigrants learn about U.S. history and government while preparing for the new naturalization test. These flash cards can also be used in the classroom as an instructional tool for citizenship preparation

Las Tarjetas de Educación Cívica ayudarán a los immigrantes a estudiar la historia y el gobierno de Estado Unidos mientras se preparan para el examen de naturalización. Estas tarjetas también pueden ser utilizadas en las escuelas como un instrumento para preparar a los estudiantes par la ciudadanía.

Milestone Documents is a new series combining full-text primary source documents with engaging, readable analysis. Plus free online access to the full content of this great reference set is available.""Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America"" launches the Schlager Group's ""Milestone Documents"". This series brings primary source documents and insightful analysis to Salem's history offerings. The series is also a key part of Salem History, the new online database available free to purchasers of the print edition.Primary source documents have always occupied a central role in the study of history. Most existing reference sources, however, treat these documents as an afterthought. This new series - the focus of a new imprint by the Schlager Group, and available exclusively through Salem Press - fills the gap by offering students and researchers in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. and world history.The first publication in this remarkable series is ""Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America"". This fully illustrated, four-volume series will treat more than 130 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century.""Milestone Documents in American History"" offers an innovative approach to historical reference. Each entry includes the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. With content aligned to the National History Standards and signed essays written by a team of nearly 100 esteemed historians, ""Milestone Documents in American History"" offers an unparalleled reference tool for students conducting primary source research.Among the documents included in the set are Revolutionary era standards such as Patrick Henry's ""Liberty or Death"" speech, the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution. Important presidential sources include Thomas Jefferson's first inaugural address, Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address, John F. Kennedy's 1963 address on integration, and George W. Bush's address on September 11, 2001. Influential decisions of the Supreme Court are also included, from Brown v. Board of Education to Bush v. Gore. Critical documents related to minority rights are also present: Andrew Jackson's message ""On Indian Removal,"" the Seneca Falls Declaration, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s ""I Have a Dream"" speech, and the Equal Rights Amendment.Special features include a general subject index, an index by category, and hundreds of photographs and other images. In addition, history educators will find eight detailed and useful teacher's guides containing dozens of student activities.