SCF Libraries: Intro to Lit Marie Hendry: Week 13

Plays

Hamlet: Hamlet, written by William Shakespeare is considered a Revenge Tragedy, complete with a ghost.

Medea: Written by Euripides, Medea is a Greek tragedy first performed in 431 BCE.

Importance of Being Earnest: A 3-act play written by Oscar Wilde which satirizes Victorian manners.

While all of the above are in the public domain and accessible from other online sources, the unique formatting of plays means referencing specific pages and lines is easier when using the same text, presented in the same way. Students who prefer print should easily find these texts from your local library or used bookstore and should not feel discouraged from doing so.

For more Full-Text plays, visit our Bloom's Literature database, Ebsco eBooks, eBook Central, and eBooks(ABC-CLIO).

Resources for Plays

Gale eBooks

Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia. Funded by FEL.
Gale Literary Sources

Search literary criticisms for the world's most written about works. Also includes some biographies and primary resources helpful for literature research. Research poetry, find poems, analyze short stories, find a short story, fiction, drama and theater works. Funded by SCF Group License.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)

Full text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more. Funded by FLVC.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Contains full text access to the Short Story Criticism and Poetry Criticism literature series. Funded by FLVC.