Reference & Instruction Librarian
Building 3, Library & Learning Center
Beginning Your Search
When you are doing research, it can be difficult to know where to start. You can use the "Quick Search" bar on the library home page to get an overview of the different resources we have, or you can start from a unique database.
Remember that when you are searching the library catalog or library databases you will search using keywords (not phrases).
Resources
-
Animal Farm
by
Call Number: PR6029.R8 A63 2003ISBN: 0452284244Publication Date: 2003-05-06George Orwell's timeless and timely allegorical novel--a scathing satire of a downtrodden society's blind march towards totalitarianism. "All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others." A farm is taken over by its overworked, mistreated animals. With flaming idealism and stirring slogans, they set out to create a paradise of progress, justice, and equality. Thus the stage is set for one of the most telling satiric fables ever penned--a razor-edged fairy tale for grown-ups that records the evolution from revolution against tyranny to a totalitarianism just as terrible. When Animal Farm was first published, Stalinist Russia was seen as its target. Today it is devastatingly clear that wherever and whenever freedom is attacked, under whatever banner, the cutting clarity and savage comedy of George Orwell's masterpiece have a meaning and message still ferociously fresh.
Literary Criticism:
-
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search literary criticisms for the world's most written about works. Also includes some biographies and primary resources helpful for literature research. Research poetry, find poems, analyze short stories, find a short story, fiction, drama and theater works. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more. Funded by FLVC.
-
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature contains critical essays on thousands of writers and works, synopses, essay topics, print and audio author interviews, as well as performance videos. Funded by SCF Group License.
Literary Biography:
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Funded by FLVC.
-
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender. Funded by FLVC.
Historical Context:
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
-
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Rich database covering religions, art, architecture, journalism, literature, dance, history, literature, drama and comparative studies. Funded by FLVC.
Questions? eCampus
Still have questions?
Visit us in person at the
- Bradenton Campus Library & Learning Center (Building 3)
- Lakewood Ranch Campus Learning Commons
- Venice Campus Dr. Bill Jervey, Jr Library
or ask us a question online.