Film

Crafting Short Screenplays That Connect, Fifth Edition, stands alone among screenwriting books by emphasizing that human connection, though often overlooked, is as essential to writing effective screenplays as conflict. This ground-breaking book will show you how to advance and deepen your screenwriting skills, increasing your ability to write richer, more resonant short screenplays that will connect with your audience. Award-winning writer and director Claudia Hunter Johnson teaches you the all-important basics of dramatic technique and guides you through the challenging craft of writing short screenplays with carefully focused exercises of increasing length and complexity. In completing these exercises and applying Johnson's techniques and insights to your own work, you will learn how to think more deeply about the screenwriter's purpose, craft effective patterns of human change, and strengthen your storytelling skills. This 20th Anniversary Edition features 11 short screenplays, including Academy Award winning Barry Jenkins' (Moonlight, If Beale Street Could Talk) luminous short film, My Josephine, and an accompanying companion website that features the completed films and additional screenplay examples. The book has also been expanded and updated to include two new award-winning screenplays Killer Kart and The Great Wall of Vicky Lynn. and a brand-new chapter exploring the use of genre in the short film. An absolute must-have resource for students of screenwriting.

Producing and Directing the Short Film and Video, Fifth Edition is the definitive book on the subject for the serious film student or beginning filmmaker. Its unique two-fold approach looks at filmmaking from the perspectives of both the producer and director, and clearly explains how their separate roles must work together to create a successful short film or video. Through extensive examples from award-winning shorts and insightful interviews, you will learn about common challenges the filmmakers encountered during each step of filmmaking process--from preproduction to production, postproduction, and distribution--and the techniques they used to overcome them. In celebrating this book's twentieth anniversary, this edition has been updated to include: Two all-new, in-depth cases studies of esteemed short films--Memory Lane and the Academy Award-winning God of Love A revised chapter progression that reinforces the significance of the actor - director relationship Interviews with the filmmakers integrated alongside the text, as well as new images and behind-the-scenes coverage of production processes Revamped sections on current financing strategies, postproduction workflows, and the wide variety of distribution platforms now available to filmmakers A "Where are They Now" appendix featuring updates on the original filmmakers covered in the first edition An expanded companion website (www.focalpress.com/cw/rea) containing useful forms and information on distributors, grants and financing sources, film and video festivals, film schools, internet sources for short works, and professional associations

Whether it's a crew of two hundred shooting a cast of thousands on horseback, or a crew of twelve filming one person in a room, each and every successful movie production requires a strong First Assistant Director (AD) at its helm. In this new and updated edition, veteran First AD Liz Gill walks you through the entire filmmaking process through the perspective of the First AD, from pre-production, shoot, wrap, and everything in between. This book provides invaluable insight into working as a First Assistant Director, featuring tricks-of-the-trade for breaking down a script, creating a schedule and organizing test shoots, alongside how to use turnaround time, weather cover, split days, overtime and continuous days to balance a challenging schedule and get the most from the cast, crew and the shoot. This new edition has been fully updated and expanded throughout to provide up-to-date coverage on new equipment and software, health and safety considerations and the implications of VFX. This is the essential guide to becoming a successful First Assistant Director, ideal for professional and aspiring AD's seeking to further their career, students of directing and production looking to gain a better understanding of how this department works and anyone interested in film and TV production. The accompanying eResources provide an expanded selection of sample call sheets, report templates, checklists, and other useful documents.

When teenage Priscilla Beaulieu meets Elvis Presley at a party, the man who is already a meteoric rock-and-roll superstar becomes someone entirely unexpected in private moments: a thrilling crush, an ally in loneliness, a gentle best friend. Through Priscilla's eyes, Sofia Coppola tells the unseen side of a great American myth in Elvis and Priscilla's long courtship and turbulent marriage, from a German army base to his dream-world estate at Graceland, in this deeply felt and ravishingly detailed portrait of love, fantasy, and fame

A wheelchair bound photographer spies on his neighbours from his apartment window and becomes convinced one of them has committed murder.

A dvd player that connects to a computer or other device via HDMI.

A comprehensive introduction to film music, this book provides a concise and illuminating summary of the process of film scoring, as well as a succinct overview of the rich history of contemporary film music. Written in a non-technical style, this book begins by presenting a brief history of film music from the last 30 years, covering topics ranging from blockbuster franchises to indie film scores. It explores film music from around the world, including Bollywood and European Avant-garde cinema, and film music in animation, like Disney-Pixar and Japanese anime. It then offers a guide to the language of film music analysis, the creative process behind composing film music, and the use of current technology. The book champions diversity in the industry, with case studies and interviews from a range of active film composers, including: Pinar Toprak (Captain Marvel, 2019), Kris Bowers (Bridgerton, 2020), Natalie Holt (Loki, 2021), and Rachel Portman (Emma, 1996), Complete with a glossary of key terms and further reading, this book is an invaluable resource for all those beginning to study film music, as well as lifelong film music buffs seeking to update their understanding of film music.

An updated edition - with completely new chapters - of the most accessible and compelling history of the cinema yet published, and complements Mark Cousins' fascinating 15-hour film documentary The Story of Film: An Odyssey. Filmmaker and author Mark Cousins shows how filmmakers are influenced both by the historical events of their times, and by each other. He demonstrates, for example, how Douglas Sirk's Hollywood melodramas of the 1950s influenced Rainer Werner Fassbinder's despairing visions of 1970s Germany; and how George Lucas' Star Wars epics grew out of Akira Kurosawa's The Hidden Fortress. The Story of Film is divided into three main epochs: Silent (1885-1928), Sound (1928-1990) and Digital (1990-Present). Films are discussed within chapters reflecting both the stylistic concerns of the film-makers and the political and social themes of the time. This edition includes new text that encompasses the further-reaching scope of world cinema today, and the huge leaps in technology that have changed cinema screens forever. Film is an international medium, so as well as covering the great American films and film-makers, The Story of Film explores cinema in Europe, Africa, Asia, Australasia and South America, and shows how cinematic ideas and techniques cross national boundaries. Avoiding jargon and obscure critical theory, the author constantly places himself in the role of the moviegoer watching a film, and asks: 'How does a scene or a story affect us, and why?' In so doing he gets to the heart of cinematic technique, explaining how film-makers use lighting, framing, focal length and editing to create their effects. Clearly written, and illustrated with over 400 stills, including numerous sequences explaining how scenes work, The Story of Film is essential reading for both film students and moviegoers alike.

Now in its sixth edition, this essential guide for students provides accessible definitions of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, world cinemas, theories and production terms.

From a New York Times bestselling author, this groundbreaking book celebrates and examines the history of Asian Americans on the big screen, exploring how iconic films have shaped Hollywood, representation, and American culture. In 2018, the critical and financial success of Crazy Rich Asians ignited new fires in Hollywood to create and back Asian-centric stories. Since then, the number of movies featuring Asian Americans, either in front or behind the camera, has boomed and ushered in a new era of filmmaking. But many films, like The Joy Luck Club in 1993, paved the way for Asian American-led films before Crazy Rich Asians and to today. The Golden Screen is an in-depth look at those films, and the factors that played into their success. The Golden Screen includes commentary and conversations from Hollywood's most visible faces, such as Simu Liu, Lulu Wang, Daniel Dae Kim, Janet Yang, Ronny Chieng, Alice Wu, and Ken Jeong. See the movies that inspired today's modern stars to enter moviemaking, and how they're paying it forward to the next wave of creators. Featuring beautiful, original artwork from nine esteemed Asian illustrators, including: Toma Nguyen, barbarian flower, Jun Cen, Cryssy Cheung, Cliff Chiang, Yu-Ming Huang, JiYeun Kang, Ashraf Omar, and Zi Xu. A beautiful keepsake and collection of over 100 photographs and original art, The Golden Screen is perfect for movie and history fans alike, and reaffirms the importance of the Asian American film canon, and all the people involved, in an increasingly diverse Hollywood. 

Award-winning screenwriters reveal their Hollywood secrets in crafting brilliant stories and methodology through interviews with world-renowned UCLA screenwriting professor Lew Hunter. Naked Screenwriting includes interviews with Francis Ford Coppola, Billy Wilder, Oliver Stone, Bruce Joel Rubin, William Goldman, Julius Epstein, Alexander Payne, Jim Taylor, Alfred Uhry, Tom Schulman, Ted Tally, Ruth Prawer Jabvola, Eric Roth, Jean-Claude Carriere, Frank Pierson, David Ward, Horton Foote, Ron Bass, Alan Ball, Callie Khouri, Robert Benton, Irving Ravetch, and Harriet Frank Junior. Never before has a book covered Oscar-winning writers so thoroughly, shedding insight and wisdom into the art of screenwriting.

A masterpiece of identity horror and a dark reflection on America's past and present, this companion paperback to the critically acclaimed film Us features Oscar® winning director Jordan Peele's screenplay illustrated with over 150 stills from the motion picture. Deleted scenes; an introduction by the film-maker; in-depth annotations by hannah baer, Theaster Gates, Mary Ping, Shana Redmond, Jared Sexton, Leila Taylor, and Jamieson Webster; and a cosmology of images, notes, and cultural references further expand on and orbit the themes of the film.

Film editing is part of the long process of formulating, acquiring and presenting the images and sounds that make a film. The film editor makes decisions about the arrangement of the visual and aural material that they receive in the cutting room, not for their own satisfaction but to stimulate the participation of the cinema and television viewer. Three interrelated aspects, Emotion, Performance and Story, influence this decision-making. Combining history, practice, study and theory, Film Editing: Emotion, Performance, Story investigates why certain editorial decisions can encourage the emotional and narrative engagement of the audience. With full-color examples from features, short films and commercials, this book introduces a range of different editing styles and techniques to provide editors with a context on which to build their practice. Julie Lambden takes a discursive approach exploring the many options open to the editor whether this is the fine point at which to cut or the exact structuring of scenes within a whole film. Examples are closely analysed and discussed using frame grabs, graphics and plans. The book opens discussions on our psychological and cognitive behavior, and asks why certain picture and sound configurations can affect us emotionally. Interspersed with chapters on the fundamental tools of editing are studies of three editing strategies. Each is a method of persuasion that the editor can use to elicit a response in the audience, whether that is sympathy for a character or belief in the fictional world.

Film editing is part of the long process of formulating, acquiring and presenting the images and sounds that make a film. The film editor makes decisions about the arrangement of the visual and aural material that they receive in the cutting room, not for their own satisfaction but to stimulate the participation of the cinema and television viewer. Three interrelated aspects, Emotion, Performance and Story, influence this decision-making. Combining history, practice, study and theory, Film Editing: Emotion, Performance, Story investigates why certain editorial decisions can encourage the emotional and narrative engagement of the audience. With full-color examples from features, short films and commercials, this book introduces a range of different editing styles and techniques to provide editors with a context on which to build their practice. Julie Lambden takes a discursive approach exploring the many options open to the editor whether this is the fine point at which to cut or the exact structuring of scenes within a whole film. Examples are closely analysed and discussed using frame grabs, graphics and plans. The book opens discussions on our psychological and cognitive behavior, and asks why certain picture and sound configurations can affect us emotionally. Interspersed with chapters on the fundamental tools of editing are studies of three editing strategies. Each is a method of persuasion that the editor can use to elicit a response in the audience, whether that is sympathy for a character or belief in the fictional world.