Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is EBP?
Evidence-Based Nursing - A way of providing nursing care that is guided by the integration of the best available scientific knowledge with nursing expertise. This approach requires nurses to critically assess relevant scientific data or research evidence, and to implement high-quality interventions for their nursing practice. (NLM PubMed MeSH)
What is PICO?
The first stage of any evidence-based practice process is formulating an answerable question. This forms the foundation for quality searching. A well-formulated question will facilitate the search for evidence and will assist you in determining whether the evidence is relevant to your question.
An answerable question has a format that follows the PICO concept. The acronym translates to:
- P – Populations/People/Patient/Problem
- I – Intervention(s)
- C – Comparison
- O – Outcome
(Purdue University Libraries).
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly Nursing journal articles. Select for evidence based practice and other specific search limiters to improve search results. BSC, NUR, HSA
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. A core resource for evidence based practice.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Evidence Based Practice Database. Content and tools used in professional evidence-based practice. Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals indexed in MEDLINE, covering the biomedical and health fields, including clinical care, public health and health policy development.
PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. PubMed specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. NB: Choose "Log In" to create an account under MY NCBI, then Manage Filters, LinkOut and click on Libraries, find SCF and click on both boxes.
EBP for Librarians
Evidence Based Library and Information Practice Journal
EBLIP is a peer reviewed, open access journal. The purpose of the journal is to provide a forum for librarians and other information professionals to discover research that may contribute to decision making in professional practice.
National Library of Medicine's curated vocabulary resource.
US National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing Virginia Henderson Library
Open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that collects, preserves and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials.
Tutorials and Training
Arizona State University liibrary's PICO tutorial and quiz for health sciences.
PICO Widget (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The PICO widget is available to do a quick lookup in some of the Ovid databases for your PICO question.Learn how to build a four part, well built clinical question and define a problem. Review PICO videos to learn how to create a strategy to do research using the PICO method.