Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1102 and LIT 2020. Dr. Marie Hendry
Welcome to the Library Guide for LIT 2020 The Short Story.
Dr. Marie Hendry.
hendrym@scf.edu
Website Orientation
The following document gives you an overview of the SCF Libraries website and where to start your research:
- SCF Libraries Website Overview
See where everything is located on our website and where to start your research and get help.
Searching Databases
Starting your research:
1) Databases
Databases recommended for LIT 2020 are listed in the box below.
Tips!
- Use "keywords", combine them and try synonyms.
- Select FULL TEXT when available.
- Email the document to yourself or save it to One Drive/Google Docs for safekeeping.
- Paraphrase, quote, or summarize information and CITE it.
- COPY + CORRECT the citations (go to the Guide or ask a librarian.)
Research Assignment Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere.
- Lit Finder (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to poems, short stories, plays and speeches. International in scope, covering poetry from antiquity to the present. Does not include literary criticism.
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more.
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains full text access to the Short Story Criticism and Poetry Criticism literature series.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowWide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries and videos on many topics. Create clips and playlists.
Finding books in the Library
Citing
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
- Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
- If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
- When in doubt... ask a librarian!
Link to Citing Guides