Welcome Dental Hygiene Students
This guide is designed to help you find authoritative, evidence-based resources for your research assignments.
Here you'll find links to recommended library databases to conduct research and help with citing properly in APA format.
Recommneded Databases
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull Text indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Health & Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAn advanced interface to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new windowA search tool developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Featured Journals
Journal of Dental Hygiene
Published by the American Dental Hygienists Association (ADHA)
(Also included in CINAHL database listed above)
Journal of Dental Research, Dental Clinics, Dental Prospects
(Also included in PubMed Central database listed above)
Other relevant journals are included in the databases listed above.
PubMed Tutorials
Learn how to set up your personalized PubMed account.
Click on the icon below to connect to our PubMed tutorials.
Streaming Videos
Dental Hygienist
Dental Health
Books in print
To find physical books (in print) available at any campus library, you can search our catalog (Quick Search) and select the filter "Available on Shelf"
Quick Search
You will find books on Dental Hygiene in the section RK (Dentistry) corresponding to the Library of Congress classification. RK60 corresponds to preventative dentistry (which includes dental hygiene)
The numbers on the spine of the book correspond to the following topics:
