This is the "Education" page of the "ENC 1101 : Predictive Research Paper ; Professor Barker" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Citation Help MLA Citation Help Frequently Asked Questions Help: contacts and  hours

ENC 1101 : Predictive Research Paper ; Professor Barker  

Professor Barker's ENC1101 research paper involving forecasting, predicting, researching and determining a historical baseline for a topic.
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.scf.edu/predictive_research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Education Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IDEA STARTERS : Headlines from ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center. Search for full text in SCF database of the same name.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Did This Help?

Did This Help?

Feedback from users.
Name:
eMail
1. Are you a State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota student? *
2. Rate this Guide: *
Excellent support.
Did you expect or need something else? Tell us about it below so we can create it.
This did not help. Could you please tell us what would help below.
3. What else should we add to Subject Guides and Tutorials?
 

Education

 

What it is

These sources are dictionaries, encyclopedias or have essays that define an issue within different contexts and more generally.


 

 

What it was

Search the term using keywords specific to history or time frame.

 

SEARCH for books, ebooks, articles and videos in Library Resources all in one search. Add keywords to search to narrow down to a more specific topic.

 

JSTOR
WHAT : Vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines. Most works are scholarly and peer reviewed. One of JSTOR's key strengths is that its full text coverage goes centuries back.

WHY: Most databases only go back to the mid 1990s. This database provides a rich scholarly historical context for centuries.
TIPS: Use the Advanced Search, select article, identify start/end date and select Discipline. This is not the best database for current events.

SUGGESTED TUTORIALS:
How to Search JSTOR
How to find Journal Content in JSTOR prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 internationally
Advanced Searching

 

Other Suggested Databases

for Finding History of Education:

 

 

What It Is Now

Scholarly and newspaper articles to find out about the current state of a topic or idea.

Americas Newspapers (NewsBank)
WHAT: National/International plus college newspapers, blogs, newswires, newsletters,  and TV news/radio transcripts.

WHY:  If the topic is current, it is criticial to find current information. Newspapers are published daily, while a journal or magazine may have a week to months lead time before publish date.
TIPS:
  Use search terms and phrases in the LEAD PARAGRAPH search to better target key articles. To search specifically for opinion or editorial sections, go to search limit SECTION and type in OPINION or EDITORIAL.

TUTORIALS:  Search Tips | PPT Tutorial

 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
WHAT: Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.  
WHY:
  Contains journals Education, Chronicle of Higher Education, Childhood Education and more.
TIPS:
  Use phrase "study & teaching" to get a different perspective. 
TUTORIALS:
   Available to Users under HELP link on upper right of screen after sign in. Includes tips on Basic Search, truncation and more.

See also:

Education Research Complete

Education Full Text (EBSCO)

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO)

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)

Social Sciences Full Text

Readers Guide Full Text (EBSCO)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
WHAT: A database containing articles -- popular, scholarly and newspaper -- and various other media. Find podcasts, videos and images. Also, opinion essays and other support or disagreement with various issues. Test the strength of an argument or find a persuasive topic in this database.
WHY:
Test your topic and thesis in the search. Also, use to narrow down a large topic to a focused topic.

TIPS: Select ISSUE and review viewpoints to look for topic ideas.
TUTORIALS: Navigating the Home Page | Searching

What It Will Be

Tips and Ideas for finding predictive analysis or future casting for topics and ideas.

 

Search the Futurist in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).

Omni Full Text (EBSCO) - Also a very large database with a wide range of Journal types and topics.
Use keywords with your topic like: forecast*, futur*, predict*. The asterisk is a truncation symbol for EBSCO databases. By using it in forecast*, your search also finds forecasts, forecasted and forecasting. The "New Search By Subject" section to the left of the search results list is often very helpful for finding new terms, keywords and perspectives.

Suggested Websites:

Ted.com -- Education : Non-profit dedicated to "Ideas worth sharing."  Collection of speeches on video.


Education Futures : Think tank and education visionaries

The Futurist
(only blogs are full text. Search Academic Search Complete for full text articles.)


 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip