SCF Libraries: ENC 1101 Written Communication: ENC 1101 Core Resources

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and peer reviewed articles in a variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, & the arts.
To open EBSCO databases, click on the "OpenAthens Login" link after you log in.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
The complete electronic editions of more than 600 U.S. newspapers.
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text biographies, both historical and contemporary.
CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
Environmental Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies. Discussion of environmental issues and sustainability.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
More than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more
Statista This link opens in a new window
Kick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports.

Statistical Information Sources

Agriculture & Food

Federal Government

USDA Economic Research Service
State Fact Sheet

Organizations

FAOSTAT - Statistics on hunger and food production from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Biotechnology - International Statistics from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Crime

Federal Government

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Federal Bureau of Prisons
Federal Bureau of Investigation

Organizations

USODOC - United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime International Reports
Gallup / Crime - Various studies listed in right side table. This page is also searchable.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center

Demographics

Federal Government

U.S. Census Bureau
ChildStats.gov
Administration for Children and Families
National Center for Health Statistics
AgingStats.gov

Organizations

AARP Surveys and Statistics - health, lifestyle and related statistics on older Americans
UNICEF - statistics regarding women and children
Pew Social and Demographic Trends