Librarian
ENC 1102: Written Communication II
Resources for assignments on Literature Criticism
Feel free to chat with me or another librarian if you need assistance with the resources in this guide.
Reference eBooks
-
Short Stories for Students
ISBN: 9781410391698Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. -
Poetry for Students
ISBN: 9781414495064Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. -
Drama for Students
ISBN: 9781410390837Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context. -
Novels for Students
ISBN: 9781410391469Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.
Recommended Databases for Literature
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text and peer reviewed articles in a variety of disciplines, including literature & the arts.
-
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature contains critical essays on thousands of writers and works, synopses, essay topics, print and audio author interviews, as well as performance videos. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowLiterary resources covering fiction, short stories, poetry, and drama. Find criticism, author biographies, work overviews, and some primary sources.
-
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Funded by FLVC.
-
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism, author biographies, work overviews and more.
-
Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and videos on many topics. Create clips and playlists. Funded by FLVC.
-
Granger's World of Poetry (Columbia Univ. Press) This link opens in a new window
This premiere poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
-
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains periodicals in literature, history, philosophy, classical studies, gender studies, performing arts & religion.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database includes the "For students" series shown in a box on on the left side of this guide: Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, Poetry for Students, etc.
Recommended Databases for Poetry
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowIncludes collections such as Poetry for Students and other poetry analysis series, as well as biographical collections that include many poets and authors.
-
Granger's World of Poetry (Columbia Univ. Press) This link opens in a new windowPoems (full text), commentary, biographies, and literary terms for poetry.
-
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text access to the Short Story Criticism and Poetry Criticism literature series. Funded by FLVC.
-
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search literary criticisms for the world's most written about works. Also includes some biographies and primary resources helpful for literature research. Research poetry, find poems, analyze short stories, find a short story, fiction, drama and theater works. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature contains critical essays on thousands of writers and works, synopses, essay topics, print and audio author interviews, as well as performance videos. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new windowUse for biographical information on the poets.
