Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for LIT 2000
How to search library resources
Two ways to get started with research:
1. Quick Search:
- Searching the Library's catalog "all-in-one" means that you can get "anything" all together: books, ebooks, articles, videos, reviews, & more.
- Use the "FILTERS" to get more specific.
- Click on the "GET IT" links to access the resource or to request it.
2. Search the DATABASES
- Choose one database at a time (click on title) and search inside.
- Use FILTERS and combine different KEYWORDS (for ex: "literary theory", "reader response", "postcolonialism" and the title of works)
- Click "Full Text" to open articles, or click "Table of Contents" for eBooks.
Recommended databases - Literature
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature contains critical essays on thousands of writers and works, synopses, essay topics, print and audio author interviews, as well as performance videos.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search literary criticisms for the world's most written about works. Also includes some biographies and primary resources helpful for iiterature reseach. Research poetry, find poems, analyze short stories, find a short story, fiction, drama and theater works.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text access to the Short Story Criticism and Poetry Criticism literature series.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia.
Examples of resources: Books & eBooks
Title recommended by Prof. Ruffner:
Beginning Theory: An Introduction to Literary & Cultural Theory by
Beginning theory has been helping students navigate through the thickets of literary and cultural theory for well over a decade now. This new and expanded third edition continues to offer students and readers the best one-volume introduction to the field.The bewildering variety of approaches, theorists and technical language is lucidly and expertly unravelled.
Below is a selection of some more titles related to literature criticism, literary theories, and how to write literature papers:
The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms by
A twenty-first century version of Roger Fowler's 1973 Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms, this latest edition of The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is the most up-to-date guide to critical and theoretical concepts available to students of literature at all levels.
An Introduction to Literary Studies by
In this classic beginner's guide to English literature, Mario Klarer offers a concise and accessible discussion of central issues in the study of literary texts, looking at: definitions of key terms such as literature and text the genres of fiction, poetry, drama, and film periods and classifications of literature theoretical approaches to texts the use of secondary resources guidelines for writing research essays
The Literary Theory Handbook by
The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories.
Literary Theory by
A quarter of a century on from its original publication, Literary Theory: An Introduction still conjures the subversion, excitement and exoticism that characterized theory through the 1960s and 70s, when it posed an unprecedented challenge to the literary establishment. Eagleton has added a new preface to this anniversary edition to address more recent developments in literary studies, including what he describes as "the growth of a kind of anti-theory", and the idea that literary theory has been institutionalized.
Practising Theory and Reading Literature by
Practising Theory and Reading Literature provides an accessible introduction to the study of contemporary literary theories and their applications to a range of literary texts. This is an elementary introduction where the emphasis is on practice, and in this respect it complements A Reader's Guide to Contemporary Literary Theory.