Getting Started - LIT 2000: Introduction to Literature - Murray - SCF Libraries at State College of Florida, Sarasota-Manatee

Librarian

She/They

Email Me

Contact:

State College of Florida
Bradenton Campus
Building 3

941-752-5411

Subjects: Career

Searching the Library's catalog "all-in-one" means that you can get "anything" all together: books, ebooks, articles, videos, reviews, & more.
Use the "FILTERS" to get more specific.
Click on the "GET IT" links to access the resource or to request it.

Search the SCF Catalog

Choose one database at a time (click on title) and search inside.
Use FILTERS and combine different KEYWORDS (for ex: "literary theory", "reader response", "postcolonialism" and the title of works)
Click "Full Text" to open articles, or click "Table of Contents" for eBooks.

Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature contains critical essays on thousands of writers and works, synopses, essay topics, print and audio author interviews, as well as performance videos.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search literary criticisms for the world's most written about works. Also includes some biographies and primary resources helpful for iiterature reseach. Research poetry, find poems, analyze short stories, find a short story, fiction, drama and theater works.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text access to the Short Story Criticism and Poetry Criticism literature series.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia.